Skip to Main Content View Text-Only

9-1-1 Bureau of Emergency Communications

Partners in Public Safety. Call 9-1-1: Save a Life, Report a Fire, Stop a Crime.

Subscribe to RSS feed

Most Recent

View More

2004-04/06 | Celebrating National Dispatchers' Week

Celebrating National Dispatchers' Week     04/06/2004
Each year, the second week of April is dedicated to the men and women who serve as public safety telecommunicators.  It was first conceived by an employee in the Contra Costa County (California) Sheriff’s Office in 1981, and was observed by that agency alone for the first three years of its inception.  APCO members in Virginia and North Carolina became involved in later years, and the national APCO organization lobbied Congress  to establish a formal proclamation in October 1991.  According to Congressional procedure, it was introduced twice more, in 1993 and 1994, and then became permanent, without the need for a yearly introduction.
The official name of the week when originally introduced in Congress in 1992 was “National Public Safety Telecommunicators Week.”  In the intervening years, it has somehow become known by several other names, including “National Public Safety Telecommunications Week” and “International Public Safety Telecommunicator’s Week.”  The Congressional resolution also stated there were more than “500,000 telecommunications specialists,” although estimates put the number of dispatchers at just over 200,000.  The figure of 500,000  probably includes support personnel and possibly also those in the commercial sector of public safety communications.
Each year at BOEC, we select a Telecommunicator of the Year from nominations received from their peer group.  Nominees demonstrate excellence in their ethical approach to duty, initiative, leadership, performance and teamwork.  This year, the employee selected is ECO II Lori Beaulier.
ECO II Lori Beaulier was selected as our 2003 Telecommunicator of the Year, and will be honored at our banquet!  The Employee Recognition Committee had an impressive group of nominated employees to choose from. The other employees nominated for Telecommunicator of the Year were:  Anne Hamburg, Rob Liebertz, Stacy Marshman and  Stephanie Solomon-Lopez.
The Outstanding Team Member Award for 2003 will be awarded to Vickie Rogers!  The Employee Recognition Committee had an impressive group of nominated employees to draw from for this award as well, and they were:  Jim Churchill, Marla Hays, Bryan Paddock, and a combination award recommendation for Genny Dupre, Betty Ferchland and Glenndia Lemoine.