Skip to Main Content View Text-Only

Development Services

From Concept to Construction

Phone: 503-823-7300

Email: bds@portlandoregon.gov

1900 SW 4th Ave, Portland, OR 97201

More Contact Info

Structural Engineering

Current Codes:

Structural Engineering Group
Name Phone Email

Douglas Morgan, Section Manager
Amit Kumar, Senior Engineer
Lorrie Bazzi
Justin Brown
Lisa Buellesbach
Brianne Craig Pickett
Shelly Duquette
Lisa Minakami
Eric Thomas
Miklos Ugrai
Mike Walkiewicz

503.823.5824
503.823.7561
503.823.7290
503.823.5075
503.823.7704
503.823.7109
503.823.7536
503.823.7967
503.823.7653
503.823.7320
503.823.7649

douglas.morgan@portlandoregon.gov
amit.kumar@portlandoregon.gov
lorrie.bazzi@portlandoregon.gov
justin.brown@portlandoregon.gov
lisa.buellesbach@portlandoregon.gov
brianne.pickett@portlandoregon.gov
shelly.duquette@portlandoregon.gov
lisa.minakami@portlandoregon.gov
eric.thomas@portlandoregon.gov
miklos.ugrai@portlandoregon.gov
mike.walkiewicz@portlandoregon.gov

If you have a structural engineering related question, please call (503) 823-1302 and leave a message. Your call will be returned promptly by a staff member well suited to answer your question.


Structural Design Requirements

Items address frequently asked questions concerning structural design requirements within the jurisdiction of the City of Portland.

Commercial Permits

The current state building code governing commercial and engineered residential construction is the 2014 Oregon Structural Specialty Code (OSSC), which is based upon the 2012 International Building Code (IBC) as amended by the State of Oregon.

Residential Permits

The structural requirements for residential projects may be either prescriptive or engineered. In prescriptive design, the ORSC (Oregon Residential Specialty Code) defines a conservative method of construction to resist vertical and lateral loads.

Miscellaneous Structures

Transmission and Cell Towers, Signs and Fabric Covered Awnings and Floating Structures

Useful Links

State of Oregon—Building Codes Division, Engineering Board (OSBEELS), Structural Engineers Association of Oregon (SEAO) and etc.