Beginning today, state law requires all gasoline retailers in northwestern Oregon to pump fuel with 10 percent ethanol, or E10. By fall, all gas stations in Oregon must sell the blend.
Just a handful of states demand the use of ethanol, and Oregon officials trumpet the transition as proof of the state's green ambitions. But it's been happening slowly for a long time.
Several of the nine counties targeted for the first phase of the switch -- Multnomah, Washington and Clackamas among them -- have used E10 blends during the winter for years, under federal clean air directives.
Portland officials, eager to deepen their environmental credentials, began requiring gas stations within city limits to pump E10 year-round beginning Nov. 1, 2007. Some stations, including Arco and Union 76, routinely provide E10 to their customers. [Read Full Article]