A number of federal and state laws protect Oregon’s archaeological sites and cultural resources. Artifacts only need to be 75 years old to be considered an archaeological object in the State of Oregon (ORS 358.905- 358.955). Archaeological objects can include prehistoric items such as arrowheads, spear points, charcoal and human and non-human bones, but can also include historical objects such as brick, glass and miscellaneous metal. Even objects that appear to be trash can constitute a significant archaeological site if they meet certain criteria.
If you encounter artifacts during the course of construction, please do the following:
- If you encounter possible human remains you must contact 911. If you find artifacts that appear to be at least 75 years old, you should avoid the area of discovery and contact a professional archaeologist as soon as possible.
- Visit www.oregon.gov/OPRD/HCD/ARCH/ or call 503-986-0671 for more details, or assistance with finding qualified archaeologists.
- Follow protocols in the City Construction Specifications Manual.