Skip to Main Content View Text-Only

Mayor Charlie Hales

City of Portland Mayor Charlie Hales

Phone: 503-823-4120

1221 SW 4th Avenue, Room 340, Portland, OR 97204

Spirit of Portland

FRIDAY, OCT. 25, 2013 – The Spirit of Portland Awards recognize local individuals and organizations who have demonstrated an outstanding dedication to positive change in our community. Award winners are those who have not only worked to improve the community, but who also have gone above and beyond a dedication to civic engagement in order to make a lasting impact.

Urban LeagueThis year’s Spirit of Portland ceremony is set for 7 to 9 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 12, at the East Portland Community Center, 740 S.E. 106th Ave.

Award winners are chosen from nominations submitted by fellow Portlanders to a selection committee of representatives from the Commissioners’ offices, the Office of Neighborhood Involvement, Neighborhood Associations and other diverse community organizations. The mayor and each commissioner also selects special award winners to recognize specific works and achievements.

“Inscribed into Portland’s Skidmore Fountain you will see these words: ‘Good Citizens are the Riches of a City,’” Mayor Charlie Hales said. “I think that is also the message behind the Spirit of Portland Awards. For truly, where would we be without those citizens who step up, volunteer, lead and find solutions to problems in their community?

“So often, these people do so with no thought as to recognition or personal reward,” Hales added. “Since the awards began in 1985, we have been able to, in some small way, show our appreciation for the work done by neighborhoods, small businesses, non-profits and so many individuals who make our city a better place to live. They truly are the Riches of a City, and we are grateful for them.”

The categories and award winners for the 2013 Spirit of Portland Awards are:


Neighborhood Association of the Year:

MountScott– Arleta Neighborhood Association


ommunity Harmony:

Midge Purcell with Urban League of Portland

Emerging Community Leader:

Pedro Moreno with Verde

Independent Spirit:

David Hampsten with Hazelwood Neighborhood Association


Outstanding Organization:

Friends of Gateway Green (Non-Profit)


Business Association of the Year:

North-Northeast Business Association’s Martin Luther King Jr. Dream Run

Community Stewardship:

Mark Lewis

Sandy Diedrich Environmental Stewardship Award:

Neighborhoods Community Garden

Outstanding Partnership:

Operation 305

Outstanding Organization:

Dennis’ 7Dees (For-Profit)

Commissioners’ Awards:

Mayor Hales Award:

Last Thursday Clean Up Dance Party

Commissioner Fish:

Individual: Steve Weiss

Individual: Briggy Thomas

Commissioner Fritz:

Organization: Right 2 Dream Too

Individual: Mary Ann Schwab

Commissioner Novick:

Organization: Disaster Relief Trials

Individual: Haven Wheelock

Commissioner Saltzman:

Organization: CASA for Children

Individual: Israel Bayer

This year, two posthumous awards will be given to recognize their outstanding lifetime achievements for community and neighborhood engagement:

  • Lee Perlman
  • Afifa Ahmed-Shafi

For further details, see the story at