Skip to Main Content View Text-Only

Neighborhood Involvement

Building inclusive, safe and livable neighborhoods and communities.

ONI Main: 503-823-4519

City/County Info: 503-823-4000

TDD: 503-823-6868

1221 SW 4th Ave, Suite 110, Portland, OR 97204

Spirit of Portland Awards

  • Northeast Broadway Business Association NEBA wins Spirit of Portland Business Association 2012

  • Gamble Booth Mayors Award to Gamble Booth 2012

  • Ashcreek Neighborhood Association Ashcreek neighborhood Association is neighborhood association of the year 2012

  • Charlene Williams Charlene Williams wins spirit of Portland for Independent Spirit 2012



Thursday, November 6, 2014

Doors open: 6:00 PM

Legacy Emanuel Medical Center – Atrium
501 N. Graham St. Portland, OR 97227

The award ceremony will take place Thursday, November 6, 2014, from 6:00 PM to 8:30 PM at Legacy Emanuel Medical Center Atrium located at 501 N. Graham St., Portland, OR 97227. Trimet service is on the #2, #24 and #44 bus lines, and six blocks from the N. Albina Mississippi Max Station. The event site is wheelchair accessible.This is a public event. No registration is needed. 

The Spirit of Portland Awards recognize local individuals and organizations who have demonstrated an outstanding dedication to positive change in our community. Award winners are those who have not only worked to improve the community, but who have also gone above and beyond a dedication to civic engagement in order to make a lasting impact.

“Inscribed into Portland’s Skidmore Fountain you will see these words: ‘Good Citizens are the Riches of a City.’ I think that is also the message behind the Spirit of Portland Awards. For truly, where would we be without those citizens who step up, volunteer, lead, and find solutions to problems in their community?” says Mayor Hales.

“So often, these people do so with no thought as to recognition or personal reward. Since the awards began in 1985, we have been able to, in some small way, show our appreciation for the work done by neighborhoods, small businesses, non-profits and so many individuals who make our city a better place to live. They truly are the Riches of a City, and we are grateful for them.”

The City of Portland will make reasonable accommodations for people with disabilities and people needing assistance with language interpretation and translation. Please notify Victor Salinas no less than five business days prior to the event at (503) 823-3093 or  TTY: (503) 823-6868, or Oregon Relay Service at (800) 735-2900.

Mayor’s Award

The Rosewood Initiative

André Baugh

Commissioner’s Award

Members of the Oregon State Police Salem Area Command

Kristi Jamison

Stephen Marc Beaudoin

Dr. Karen Fischer Gray

Steve Rudman

American Red Cross Cascades Region

Jade District Steering Committee

Rose City Futsal

Community Award

Amber Starks

Portland Mercado

George T. Nicola

East Portland Action Plan

Ramón Ramirez

PFLAG Portland

Ronault L.S. Catalani (Polo)

Write Around Portland

Donita Fry

Sandy Diedrich Environmental Stewardship Award

Don Baack


Spirit of Portland Call for Nominations Closes Friday, Sept. 12

Call for nominations 2014 Spirit of Portland Awards due September 12, 2014 nominations can be submitted in any language

El Consejo de la Ciudad reconoce a 21 ganadores del premio Espíritu de Portland el martes 12 de noviembre del 2013

Los Premios Espíritu de Portland reconocer a personas individuales y organizaciones locales que han demostrado una dedicación excepcional a un cambio positivo en nuestra comunidad. Los ganadores son aquellos que no sólo han trabajado para mejorar la comunidad, sino que también han ido más allá de la dedicación a la participación ciudadana con el fin de hacer un impacto duradero.

Winners of the 2013 Spirit of Portland awards

Listing of categories and winners of the 2013 Spirit of Portland awards

Press Release - Spirit of Portland awards ceremony Nov. 6, 2014

Press Release - Spirit of Portland awardees to be recognized Tues., Nov. 6, 6 PM, at Legacy Emanuel Medical Center - Atrium, 501 N. Graham St. Portland, OR

Past Winners: 1985 - 2012

Previous winners of the Spirit of Portland Awards from 1985 through 2012