Skip to Main Content View Text-Only

Neighborhood Involvement

Building inclusive, safe and livable neighborhoods and communities.

ONI Main: 503-823-4519

City/County Info: 503-823-4000

TDD: 503-823-6868

1221 SW 4th Ave, Suite 110, Portland, OR 97204

Spirit of Portland Awards

  • Judy Bluehorse Skelton 2015 awardee Awarded the Sandy Diedrich Environmental Stewardship Award

  • Enough is Enough 2015 awardee Brenda Davis

  • Commissioner Dan Saltzman Excited awardees wave to their supporters in the balcony.

  • Spirit of Portland Award night Tres leche cake by La Perlita Bakery

31st Annual Spirit of Portland Awards ceremony

Tuesday, November 17

6:00 PM to 8:30 PM

City Hall Council Chambers

1221 SW Fourth Avenue


Press release

The Mayor and Commissioners of the City of Portland invite you to join them as they recognize and celebrate the 31ST Annual Spirit of Portland Awards winners at City Hall on Tuesday, November 17, 2015.

The Spirit of Portland Awards recognize local individuals and organizations who have demonstrated an outstanding dedication to positive change in our community. Award winners are those who have not only worked to improve the community, but who have also gone above and beyond a dedication to civic engagement in order to make a lasting impact. 

Award winners are chosen from nominations submitted by fellow Portlanders by a selection committee of representatives from the Commissioners’ offices, the Office of Neighborhood Involvement, Neighborhood Associations, and other diverse community organizations. The Mayor and each Commissioner also selects special award winners to recognize specific works and achievements.

There will be a traditional Tongan performance during the event. Cake will be served following the event.

Transit accessibility

City Hall is located on the bus mall downtown and the City Hall MAX stop for the orange, yellow and green lines. 

Language interpretation

Spanish and ASL interpretation will be provided at the event.

The City of Portland will make reasonable accommodations for people with disabilities and/or those needing assistance with language interpretation and translation. Please notify Juliette Muracchioli no less than five business days prior to the event at (503) 823-9666 or;  TTY: (503) 823-6868, or Oregon Relay Service at (800) 735-2900.

Cable TV telecast

The ceremony will be streamed live on the City's website at and re-broadcast on Portland Community Media 

The winners for the 31st Annual Spirit of Portland Awards are:

Outstanding Community Leader

Emanuel Price, SCAFE Portland


Outstanding Community Group or Organization

Zomi Association of the United States

Enough is Enough PDX


Outstanding Young Leader

Kallie Kurtz, Teen Services Coordinator, Matt Dishman Community Center


Individual Making a Difference

Suzanne Stahl, Portland Commission on Disability


Organization Making a Difference

Portland Chapter of the Hearing Loss Association of America


Neighborhood Association of the Year

Markham Neighborhood Association – Donna Herron, President and Kim Herron, Vice-President


Business Association of the Year

Portland Area Business Association (PABA)


Business Community Partner of the Year

Po’Shines Café de la Soul


Sandy Diedrich Environmental Stewardship Award

Judy Bluehorse Skelton, Portland State University


Equity in Practice

Jennifer Devlin, BES Community Watershed Stewardship Program Staff and Partners


Innovative City Leader

Som Nath Subedi, Parks for New Portlanders


Commissioners’ Awards

Mayor Hales

Bedmart Mattress Superstores


Commissioner Amanda Fritz

Mike Verbout, North Portland activist

Mount Tabor Neighborhood Association and Portland Water Bureau


Commissioner Nick Fish

Debbie Aiona, League of Women Voters

Bernie Foster, Founder of The Skanner


Commissioner Dan Saltzman

Free Geek Technology Services

Michael Balter, President Emeritus, Boys & Girls Aid


Commissioner Steve Novick

Kem Marks, Division Midway Alliance

Anti-Displacement PDX Coalition


Lifetime Achievement Award

Mrs. Clara Mae Peoples, Mother of Juneteenth in Portland



Juliette Muracchioli, Office of Neighborhood Involvement

Phone:  503-823-9666



Past Winners: 1985 - 2014

Previous winners of the Spirit of Portland Awards from 1985 through 2014

Spirit of Portland 2015 Awardees

Award recipients for 2015 Spirit of Portland awards

Winners of the 2014 Spirit of Portland Awards

Winners of the 2014 Spirit of Portland Awards

Press Release - Spirit of Portland Awards Nominations Open Through Friday, September 11th, 2015

Press Release - Spirit of Portland Awards Nominations Open Through Friday, September 11th, 2015

Press Release - 2015 Spirit of Portland award winners

Press release announcing the 2015 31st Annual Spirit of Portland Awards and ceremony event details.