Skip to Main Content View Text-Only

Neighborhood Involvement

Building inclusive, safe and livable neighborhoods and communities.

ONI Main: 503-823-4519

City/County Info: 503-823-4000

TDD: 503-823-6868

1221 SW 4th Ave, Suite 110, Portland, OR 97204

Winners of the 2013 Spirit of Portland awards

The categories and award winners for the 2013 Spirit of Portland Awards are:



Neighborhood Association of the Year
Mt. Scott – Arleta Neighborhood Association

Business Association of the Year
North-Northeast Business Association’s Martin Luther King   Jr. Dream Run

Community Harmony
Midge Purcell with Urban League of Portland

Community Stewardship
Mark Lewis with PPS Ockley Green School

Emerging Community   Leader
Pedro Moreno with Verde

Sandy Diedrich Environmental Stewardship Award
Neighborhoods Community Garden

Independent Spirit
David Hampsten with Hazelwood Neighborhood Association

Outstanding Partnership
Operation 305

Outstanding Organization (Non-Profit)
Friends of Gateway Green

Outstanding Organization (For-Profit)
Dennis’ 7 Dees

Commissioners’   Awards:

Mayor Hales Award
Last Thursday Clean Up Dance Party

Commissioner Fish (Individual)
Steve Weiss with Elders in Action

Commissioner Fish (Individual)
Briggy Thomas with the City of Portland Water Bureau

Commissioner Fritz (Organization)
Right 2 Dream Too

Commissioner Fritz (Individual)
Mary Ann Schwab

Commissioner Novick (Organization)
Disaster Relief Trials

Commissioner Novick (Individual)
Haven Wheelock with Outside In

Commissioner Saltzman (Organization)
CASA for Children

Commissioner Saltzman (Individual)
Israel Bayer with Street Roots

Special Lifetime Achievement Awards: 

This year, two posthumous awards will be given to recognize and for outstanding lifetime achievements.


Lee Perlman, Neighborhood/Community reporter

Afifa Ahmed-Shafi with the Office of Neighborhood Involvement