In 1911, as part of an Olmsted design, the Laurelhurst Annex block was developed into a play park along SE 37 Ave between Oak & Stark. The boys were to play on the south side, the girls on the north side. Circa 1914, a 'comfort station' with a working fireplace was built next to the playground. The Tudor theatre style building has a unique chimney that splits in two on the balcony level with a spot to stand in the middle. Although the fireplace is no longer in use, the picturesque balcony is still available for observing classes. With the installation of a professional grade dance floor, the studio has primarily been used for performing arts classes.