Below are base requirements for application. The process is highly competitive, only the most qualified are selected.
Please visit the "Qualities of Successful Candidates" for details.
ENTRY-LEVEL, LATERAL & RESERVE OFFICERS
At time of testing, you must:
be at least 21 years of age and
possess a high school diploma or GED
ENTRY-LEVEL OFFICER APPLICANTS *ONLY*
Plus at least ONE of the following:
By time of hire, possess:
- COLLEGE CREDIT: An Associate Degree or at least 60-semester or 90-quarter hours from an accredited college or university. (Courses must be 100 level or above), ~OR~
- POLICE CERTIFICATION: Another state's current police officer standards and training certificate, accepted by Oregon Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST).
By time of testing, have completed:
- Two years of continuous service exercising police powers at a local, state or federal law enforcement agency , ~OR~
- Two years of continuous service working in a law enforcement agency within Oregon (including 911-dispatchers and other administrative support positions), ~OR~
- MILITARY EXPERIENCE: Two years of active duty or four years reserve U.S. military service under honorable conditions, ~OR~
- POLICE RESERVE OFFICER EXPERIENCE: Two years of service as a reserve police officer (after training and with at least of 500 hours of service rendered), ~OR~
- PORTLAND POLICE CADET EXPERIENCE: Two years service as a Portland Police Cadet (after training and with at least 500 hours of service, and be 21 years at the time of appointment), ~OR~
LATERAL POLICE APPLICANTS *ONLY*
Plus 3 years of current police service described below:
At least three years of continuous service exercising police powers at a city (municipal), county or state police agency responsible for 9-1-1 calls. The 3 years of service must be current, full-time, unbroken, and continuous with no more than a 30 day break in service. To be sworn in as a lateral officer the candidate must have been so employed no more than 6 months before the Portland Police hire date.
NOTE: Federal law enforcement, U.S. Military police, reserve experience, security experience, etc. do not qualify a candidate for lateral applicant status.
Lateral officers with a state certification recognized by Oregon do not have to attend the DPSST Basic Academy. However, lateral officers will attend a two-week Career Officer Development class and the 16-week Advanced Academy - both trainings are in Portland and operated by the bureau. Lateral officers go through the same 18-month probation and training program (FTEP) as recruit officers, but tend to accelerate through the phases more quickly.
For the most up-to-date information on state certifications recognized by DPSST and to answer any other specific certification questions, please contact DPSST directly at www.oregon.gov/dpsst
***The below list is not all-inclusive, it is meant as a guide.***
You are not likely to be hired as a Portland Community Police Officer if:
- Traffic record, police contacts, accident report, and credit report show a continuing or recent pattern of poor decision making.
- Personal life shows a history of poor judgment or refusal to confront problems.
- Personal/Professional life shows a lack of experience with people from racial backgrounds different from your own.
- Recently or currently misrepresenting yourself or ignoring laws.
- Provided controlled substances to others, or have been involved in long-term criminal activity.
- Work history shows a pattern of unexcused absences, discipline, or discharge.
- Life activities (work, volunteer, hobbies) show little or no interest in serving the public or others.
- People who know you have doubts about your honesty or character.
- Have body art above collarbone or below wrists, except for reasonable cosmetic purposes. Body art includes, but not limited to, branding, scarifications and tattoos.
According to State & Federal Law - You cannot be a police officer in Oregon if:
- You cannot obtain a valid driver's license in your state of residence.
- You will not be a U.S. citizen within one year of being hired. NOTE: Citizenship application requires 5 years of residency.
- You have been convicted of driving under the influence of intoxicants (D.U.I.I.) within the past 3 years or have 2 or more D.U.I.I. convictions. A diversion or similar action is considered the same as a conviction.
- You have been convicted of Reckless Driving, Attempting to Elude, Hit and Run (Failure to perform the duties of a driver....), or Felony Driving While Suspended or Revoked within the last two years. DPSST has a 10-year look back period for which they review convictions to evaluate if a candidate will be approved for state police certification.
- You have been convicted of a Domestic Violence Assault.
- You have been convicted of a felony.
- You have been convicted of any crime involving controlled substances.
- You have a dishonorable discharge from the armed services.
Oregon will not certify as a police officer anyone who has been convicted of:
For complete details of disqualifiers to receive state certification as law enforcement - please visit the Oregon Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST) website for the Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) #259-008-0070 Denial/Revocation.
- ORS 162.065, Perjury
- ORS 162.075, False Swearing
- ORS 162.085, Unsworn Falsification
- ORS 163.408, Sexual Penetration with a Foreign Object II
- ORS 163.411, Sexual Penetration with a Foreign Object I
- ORS 163.435, Contributing to Sexual Delinquency of a Minor
- ORS 163.445, Sexual Misconduct
- ORS 163.575, Endangering Welfare of Minor
- ORS 163.670, Use Child in Display Sexually Explicit Material
- ORS 163.684, Encouraging Child Sexual Abuse I
- ORS 163.686, Encouraging Child Sexual Abuse II
- ORS 167.065, Furnishing Obscene Materials to Minors
- ORS 167.070, Sending Obscene Materials to Minors
- ORS 167.075, Exhibiting Obscene Performance to a Minor
- ORS 167.080, Displaying Obscene Materials to Minors
- ORS 162.335, Rape III
- ORS 162.365, Rape II
- ORS 163.375, Rape I
- ORS 163.385, Sodomy III
- ORS 163.395, Sodomy II
- ORS 163.405, Sodomy I
- ORS 163.415, Sex Abuse III
- ORS 163.425, Sex Abuse II
- ORS 163.427, Sex Abuse I
- ORS 163.515, Bigamy
- ORS 163.525, Incest
- ORS 167.007, Prostitution
- ORS 167.017, Compelling Prostitution
- ORS 167.012, Promoting Prostitution
- ORS 163.465, Public Indecency