Skip to Main Content View Text-Only

Police Bureau

Sworn to protect. Dedicated to serve.

Phone: 503-823-0000

Fax: 503-823-0342

Non-Emergency: 503-823-3333

1111 S.W. 2nd Avenue, Portland, OR 97204

Public Information Office
Public Information Office List | Login | Sign Up  
 View Item

Chief's Forum Announces Award Recipients

December 07, 2007 00:00



On Monday, Dec. 10, 2007, at 9:00 a.m., in the second-floor auditorium of the Portland Building located at 1120 Southwest 5th Avenue, Portland Police Bureau’s Chief’s Forum will present awards to this year’s recipients of the Chief’s Forum Awards. Chief Rosie Sizer and the Chief’s Forum co-chairs will make the presentations to the award recipients.

The Chief’s Forum is a policy advisory group to the Portland Police Bureau’s Chief of Police. The awards honor citizens of the community and Police Bureau members who, through their exceptional performance of community policing activities, have distinguished themselves above and beyond the call of duty.

“These individuals that we are recognizing exemplify our values and our mission to reduce crime and the fear of crime,” said Police Chief Rosie Sizer. “I believe that their involvement in community policing efforts help build a safer, more livable city.”

The Chief’s Forum is proud to list the categories and the award recipients:

Nathan Thomas Memorial Award: Forum’s highest award and may be awarded to any individual for an act of outstanding performance by which the nominee demonstrated in great degree exceptional communicative accomplishments which further the goals of community policing and/or show acts of selflessness, personal courage and devotion to the community. This year’s recipient is Officer James Nett for exemplifying the Police Bureau’s values of compassion and respect when dealing with individuals who may be experiencing a mental health crisis. Officer Nett is being recognized for preventing a distraught and suicidal man from doing harm to himself and others. Officer Nett drew on his experience and training in crisis intervention to resolve this incident.

Certificate of Appreciation: Awarded to any individual or group who directly aids the community in promoting the community policing effort in a distinctive way. Recipients are: Officer Michael Gallagher, Dorothy Harding, Augusta Hayter, Officer Steve Johns, Officer Mark McGlaughlin, Officer Blaine Tyler, Officer Jeff Myers, Retired Officer Robert Sherman, Detective Eric McDaniel, and Maura White-Cioeta.

Community Policing Problem Solving Award: Awarded to any individual or group for recognition of demonstrated creative problem-solving methods and/or techniques used to aid in the betterment of the community. Recipients are: Commander James Ferraris, Officer Becky Braun, Sgt. Todd Davis, Sgt. Tom McGranahan, Officer Dan Romanowski, Officer Anthony Zoeller, ONI Crime Prevention Program Coordinator Havilah Ferschweiler, TJ Browning, David Lauten, Robert Mahoney, Officer Betty Woodward, Officer Phil Blanchard, Officer Robert Pickett, Officer Robert Quick, Officer Anthony Zanetti and Portland Patrol Officer James Bare.

For more information on award recipients, please contact the Public Information Officer at 503-823-0010, or the Strategic Services Division at 503-823-0283.



Media Relations:
Sgt. Pete Simpson
Desk: 503-823-0830
Pager: 503-790-1779

Portland Police Bureau
1111 SW 2nd Ave, Suite 1526
Portland, Oregon 97204



   More »