Skip to Main Content View Text-Only

Police Bureau

Sworn to protect. Dedicated to serve.

Phone: 503-823-0000

Fax: 503-823-0342

Non-Emergency: 503-823-3333

1111 S.W. 2nd Avenue, Portland, OR 97204

Public Information Office
Public Information Office List | Login | Sign Up  
 View Item

Officers and Citizens Receive Police Bureau Awards

January 15, 2008 00:00



On Wednesday, January 16, 2008, at 4:00 p.m., at David Douglas Performing Arts Center, located at 1400 Southeast 130th Avenue, Chief Rosie Sizer will host the Police Bureau’s annual awards ceremony.

This year’s ceremony honors citizens and members of the Portland Police Bureau, including three citizens who will be receiving the Citizen Medal for Heroism; five officers receiving the Police Medal; and eight officers receiving the Life Saving Medal.

This ceremony is open to the media and the public.

List of Awards

CERTIFICATE OF APPRECIATION: Dianne Parks (Citizen), Cheri Konst (Citizen), James Fairbanks (Citizen)PCC Officer Todd Johnson, Officer Steven Johns, Officer Robert Quick, Sergeant James Simms, Officer John Blair, Officer Billy Wells, Charles Dorris Jr. (Citizen)

UNIT COMMENDATION: Traffic Division Motorcycle Training Unit

COMMENDATION MEDAL: Sergeant Thomas McGranahan, Assistant Chief Lynnae Berg,Commander Bret Smith, Lieutenant Larry O’Dea, Lieutenant Arnold Warren, Officer Nathan Shropshire, Officer Jerrold Higginbotham, Michael Palmer, Marsha Palmer, David Maller, Veronica Nordeen, Joann Elsner, Joanne Johnson, Peter Bates, Brandi Gilbert, Officer Robert Pickett, Havilah Ferschweiler

ACHIEVEMENT MEDAL: Angie Nelson, Sergeant Doug Justus, Officer Michael Gallagher, Sergeant Jason Jones, Lynn Fairweather (DV Advocate), Detective Todd Gradwahl, Assistant Chief Brian Martinek, Commander James Ferraris, Captain Keith Morse, Lieutenant Robert Heimbach, Lieutenant Mark Kruger, Sergeant Dave Virtue, Sergeant Scott Johnson, Officer Tamara Lee, Officer Matthew McDonald, Officer Christopher Watts, Terri Wallo-Strauss, Julie Salmon (Emergency Management Consultant), Officer John Billard, Officer Lacey Sparling, Officer Heath Kula, Officer Christopher McDonald, Officer Michael Gallagher, Sergeant David Golliday, Sergeant Erin Smith, Sergeant Robert McCormick, Officer Robert Hollins, Officer William Winters, Lieutenant Timothy Sessions, Officer David Dobler

DISTINGUISHED SERVICE MEDAL: Officer Raymond Turney, Sergeant Michael Unsworth

LIFE SAVING MEDAL: Officer John Maul Officer, West Helfrich, Officer Tim Lowry, Officer Phillip Harper, Sergeant Deborah Steigleder, Retired Officer Dan Thompson, Officer James Nett, Officer Mark Snyder

POLICE STAR: Sergeant Michael Krantz

POLICE MEDAL: Officer Robert Wullbrandt, Sergeant Charles Brown, Officer Todd Christensen, Officer Carlos Pagan, Officer Spencer Sheldon

CITIZEN MEDAL – HEROISM: Justin Fulbright, Robert Christensen, Susan Kuhnhausen



Media Relations:
Sgt. Pete Simpson
Desk: 503-823-0830
Pager: 503-790-1779

Portland Police Bureau
1111 SW 2nd Ave, Suite 1526
Portland, Oregon 97204



   More »

Heartbleed Security Notice

A serious security vulnerability known as "Heartbleed" was recently discovered in OpenSSL, a popular software library commonly used by many websites on the internet to encrypt communication between a user's computer and a web server. is NOT affected by this vulnerability as it does not use the OpenSSL software library. Please rest assured we are dedicated to protecting your security on this website.