Skip to Main Content View Text-Only

Police Bureau

Sworn to protect. Dedicated to serve.

Phone: 503-823-0000

Fax: 503-823-0342

Non-Emergency: 503-823-3333

1111 S.W. 2nd Avenue, Portland, OR 97204

Public Information Office
Public Information Office List | Login | Sign Up  
 View Item

Chief's Forum Announces Award Recipients

December 09, 2005 00:00



On Monday, December 12, 2005, at 9:00 am, in the second-floor auditorium of the Portland Building located at 1120 Southwest 5th Avenue, Mayor Tom Potter, Chief Derrick Foxworth and the Chief’s Forum co-chairs will present awards to this year’s recipients at the annual Chief’s Forum Awards. The Chief’s Forum awards recognize community policing activities accomplished in 2004.

The Chief’s Forum is a policy advisory group to the Portland Police Bureau’s Chief of Police. The awards honor citizens of the community and Police Bureau members who, through their exceptional performance of community policing activities, have distinguished themselves above and beyond the call of duty.

“These individuals that we are recognizing exemplify our values of integrity, compassion, accountability, respect, excellence, and service,” said Police Chief Derrick Foxworth. “I believe that their involvement in the shared responsibility of community policing efforts helps to build a safer, more livable city.”

There are five award categories:

Nathan Thomas Memorial Award: Forum’s highest award and may be awarded to any individual for an act of outstanding performance by which the nominee demonstrated in great degree exceptional communicative accomplishments which further the goals of community policing and/or show acts of selflessness, personal courage and devotion to community. This year’s recipient is Officer Paul Ware for exemplifying the Police Bureau’s values of compassion and respect when dealing with individuals who may be experiencing a mental health crisis. Officer Ware was recognized in January 2005, for preventing a distraught man with a butcher knife from doing harm to himself and others in the Senate Chambers of the Oregon State Capital.

Special Recognition Award: Recipient is Roy Pittman, who helped create the Peninsula Wrestling Club, providing a venue for young athletes to wrestle, and instilling self-development, respect, integrity, discipline, fair play and hard work. He is also an active member of the African-American Advisory Council, Tender Loving Care/Think-N-Try, Salvation Army Holiday Program and the Rosenbaum Foundation.

Youth Recognition Certificate: Awarded to any youth, who, through school or community activities, promotes the community policing effort in a distinctive way. Recipient is the East Precinct Cadet Post for performing more than 10,000 hours of service to the communities of Portland in 2004.

Certificate of Appreciation: Awarded to any individual or group who directly aids the community in promoting the community policing effort in a distinctive way. Recipients are: Officers Travis Fields, Friends of the Mount Tabor Park and Foot Patrol, Kathy Fuerstenau, Deputy District Attorney Jessie Gnanananthan, Nancy Hand, Ruth Hander, Reserve Lt. Gary Moore, Eugene Muir, Pastor Mary Overstreet-Smith, Officer Franz Schoening, Doug Thompson and Cynthia Warren.

Community Policing Problem Solving Award: Awarded to any individual or group for recognition of demonstrated creative problem-solving methods and/or techniques used to aid in the betterment of the community. Recipients are: William Bray, Officer Jason Christensen, Officers Jeffrey Dorn, Peggy Glascock, Officer Jason Harris, Libby Lescalleet, Pete Macias, Amie Massier, Officer David Sessum, Dave Smith, Mark Wigginton.

For more information on award recipients, please contact the Public Information Officer at 503-823-0010, or the Planning and Support Division at 503-823-0283.



Media Relations:
Sgt. Pete Simpson
Desk: 503-823-0830
Pager: 503-790-1779

Portland Police Bureau
1111 SW 2nd Ave, Suite 1526
Portland, Oregon 97204



   More »