Skip to Main Content View Text-Only

Regional Disaster Preparedness Organization

Unified. Prepared. Resilient.

Phone: 503-823-5386

FAX: 503-823-3903

Find news and updates about the Regional Disaster Preparedness Organization (RDPO) as well as disaster preparedness topics here.

RDPO FY2014 Regional Priorities Approved Work Plan and Budget

Graphic naming eight grant projects

Click to see the approved RDPO FY2014 Regional Priorities Work Plan and Budget

The RDPO Policy Committee on May 9, 2014 approved the RDPO Regional Priorities Work Plan and Budget to be submitted within the UASI FY2014 grant application. The eight projects aligning with the RDPO 2014-2016 Strategic Priorities, intended project deliverables, and implementation strategy will be in effect from July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2015.


Open for Stakeholder Comment: Regional Multi-Agency Coordination System (MACS) Concept of Operations (ConOps) Plan Final Draft

Final Draft of the Regional MACS ConOps Plan. Open for Stakeholder comment.



Click to download:

(Word version)  Final Draft of the Regional Multi-Agency Coordination System (MACS) Concept of Operations (ConOps) Plan

  (PDF version)   Final Draft of the Regional Multi-Agency Coordination System (MACS) Concept of Operations (ConOps) Plan

The Regional MACS ConOps Plan provides an all-hazards framework for collaboration, coordination and decision-making among response and support entities during both regional emergencies and complex planned events in the Portland Metropolitan Region. Stakeholders are invited to comment. 

Send any comments to David Gassaway, RDPO Regional Planner,

Please use “Track Changes” and/or insert comments into the text. Comments are due May 26, 2014.

RDPO Key Organizational Changes in early 2014

April 2014 organizational chart highlights leadership changes and emerging work groups for RDPO


The new year in 2014 brought about key organizational change to RDPO. Highlights include:

  • REMTEC officially became the emergency management work group of the RDPO, with the Citizen Corps WG, WebEOC RUG and the Resource Management Committee all transitioning to standing committees of REMTEC
  • The Animal MACG and the NW Hospitals EM Group became voting members of the Program Committee
  • Both the Program and Steering Committees transitioned to new leaders: Bob Cozzie, C-COM Director, is the new Steering Committee Chair; Joe Rizzi, Director of Multnomah County, is the new Steering Committee Vice Chair. Sherwood Police Captain Mark Daniel is the new Program Committee Chair; and Sue Mohnkern, Washington County Public Health Preparedness Program Supervisor, is the new Program Committee Vice Chair.
  • Portland Commissioner Steve Novick became the Policy Committee Vice Chair. Columbia County Commissioner, Tony Hyde remained the PC Chair.
  • The MACS ConOps Task Force has moved from falling under the Program Committee's oversight to that of the Steering Committee as the plan nears completion and several important steps unfold, including obtaining approval from each of the five RDPO counties and forming/standing up/training the RMAC Group and Support Organization. 
Click to see the new RDPO 2014 Organizational Chart.