Skip to Main Content View Text-Only

Portland Bureau of Transportation

Phone: 503-823-5185

Fax: 503-823-7576

1120 SW Fifth Ave, Suite 800, Portland, OR 97204

More Contact Info

Oregon Vehicle Code

Chapter 98

98.810 - 840 Parking Lots

Chapter 447

447.233  Accessible Parking Space Requirements

Chapter 810

810.160  Controlling Parking on Highways
810.170  Winter Recreation Parking
810.365  Failure to Appear on Certain Parking Offenses
810.425  Procedures in Certain Parking Cases
810.430  Movement of Illegally Parked Vehicles
810.550  Authority of railroad Officers to Move Illegally Parked Vehicles

Chapter 811

811.550  Places Where Stopping, Standing or Parking Prohibited
811.555  Illegal Stopping, Standing or Parking
811.560  Illegal Stopping, Standing or Parking Exemptions
811.565  Dangerous Movement of Stopped, Standing or Parked Vehicles
811.570  Improperly Positioning Parallel Parked Vehicles
811.575  Violations of Posted Parking Restrictions on State Highways
811.580  Parking Vehicle on State Highway for Vending Purposes
811.585  Failure to Secure a Motor Vehicle
811.590  Unlawful Parking in Winter Recreation Parking Area
811.595  Winter Recreation Parking Permit
811.600  Fees for Winter Recreation Parking Permit
811.602  640  Disabled Person Parking

Chapter 819

819.110 - 200 Abandoned Vehicles

Chapter 820

820.300 Ambulances and Emergency Vehicles


Oregon's Driver's Manual

Stopping, Standing and Parking:

If you are not in a business or residential area, do not stop or park on the traffic lanes of a  road.  This applies whether you are in the vehicle or away from it.   This rule does not apply if your vehicle breaks down and you cannot get it out of the traffic lanes or there is not enough room off the road on the shoulder for you to stop or park.


You cannot stop, stand or park your vehicle, except to avoid a conflict with other traffic, to obey a law, police officer or a traffic sign or signal, in these location:

  • On the road or street side of any parked vehicle

  • In a tunnel

  • On a sidewalk

  • On or within 15 feet of railroad tracks

  • Within an intersection

  • On a throughway where access is controlled

  • On a crosswalk

  • In a bicycle lane

  • Between separate roads of a divided highway, including crossovers

  • Between a safety zone and the adjacent or nearby curb

  • Alongside or opposite a street excavation or obstruction, when to stop, stand or park would interfere with traffic

  • On a bridge or overpass 

  • A curb painted yellow

Other Locations:

You cannot stand or park a vehicle (except momentarily to pick up or drop off a passenger in any of these locations:

  • In front of a public or private driveway

  • Within 10 feet of a fire hydrant

  • Within 15 feet of a fire station driveway

  • Within 50 feet of a flashing signal, stop sign, yield sign or other traffic control device located at the side of the road, if standing or parking hides the signal from view

  • At any other location where official signs or pavement markings prohibit standing, stopping or parking

Parking On Hills:

If you park or stop on a down-grade, turn the front wheels to the curb or away from the highway so the car will not roll.  Be sure to set the emergency or parking brake.   To reinforce the parking brake in an automatic-shift car, put the shift selector in park.  In a standard shift, use reverse on a downgrade or low gear on an upgrade.


Parallel Parking:

Park in the direction vehicles are moving in the lane.  Park parallel and within 12 inches of the curb.  If there is no curb, park as close as possible to the edge of the shoulder.  Your wheels must be within marked spaces.


Angle Parking:

This type of parking is common in parking lots, shopping centers, and wide streets.   A courteous driver never parks too close to another car.  This practice could result in damage to your car.


Emergency Parking:

You may temporarily stop or park a vehicle in areas where it usually is not allowed if the vehicle has broken down and you have no choice.  Use four-way flashers if you must stop or pull off the road.  This will help warn other drivers of the hazard.


If necessary, you may park a vehicle on the shoulder of a highway if passing traffic has enough room to get by and if your vehicle can be seen from 200 feet in each direction. If it cannot be seen from 200 feet each way, you need to warn approaching traffic. This can be done with a flagger, flag, flare, sign or signal placed at least 200 feet in each direction from your vehicle.


Unattended Vehicles:

When you leave a vehicle unattended on a highway, turn off the engine, lock the ignition, remove the key and firmly set the brakes.


If a police officer finds a vehicle parked in an area where it is not allowed, the officer may have it moved or require you or a person in charge to move it to a legal stopped or parked position.


If you abandon a vehicle on the highway, police may have it removed.  You also may get a ticket for abandoning a vehicle.


Disabled Persons Parking Spaces:

Only disabled persons may use a parking space marked with a wheelchair symbol sign.   This applies on both public streets and private property, such as shopping center parking lots.  A disabled person must have a parking permit issued by DMV to park in these spaces.


It is illegal to park for any amount of time, even a few minutes, in a space marked for the use of disabled persons if you do not have the required parking permit.


It is also illegal for anyone, even holders of a parking permit, to park on the diagonal stripes next to a disabled person parking space.  Disabled persons use this access area for entering and exiting their vehicles.


Opening Doors:

When you open a car door on either the street or curb side, you must first be sure it is safe to do so and that the open door will not interfere with passing traffic or with pedestrians or bicyclists.  Open the door only long enough to load or unload passengers.


Re-entering Traffic:

When entering traffic from a parked position, turn on your signal and yield to all other traffic on the road you're entering.  Use hand and arm signals if your turn signals are hidden by other vehicles.


When entering a public road, driveway or alley, you must stop for pedestrians. After stopping and looking for traffic at the roadway entrance, you must continue to yield to oncoming vehicles until there is enough time and space to enter the road safely.


Only drive into an intersection, marked crosswalk or railroad crossing when there is enough time for your vehicle to clear the intersection, crosswalk or crossing.  You must not block the path of other vehicles, pedestrians or trains.