Skip to Main Content View Text-Only

The City of Portland, Oregon

City Budget Office

Service Areas in the Budget


The budget is divided into seven service areas. Each city bureau, office or program falls into one of the service areas. When you look at the City's budget, it helps to know in which service area the program you are interested in is found. The service areas are constant in the operating budgets (Volume 1) and in the capital budgets (Volume 2) of the City of Portland budget documents. Here is a listing of the service areas and their component bureaus, including common acronyms and abbreviations.
Public Safety:
  1. Emergency Communications 
  2. Fire & Police Disability & Retirement 
  3. Police 
  4. Fire & Rescue 
  5. Emergency Management 
Parks, Recreation & Culture:
  1. Parks & Recreation 
Public Utilities:
  1. Environmental Services 
  2. Water  
Community Development:
  1. Development Services 
  2. Housing 
  3. Planning and Sustainability 
  4. Community & Civic Life
  5. Prosper Portland 
  6. Equity & Human Rights 
  7. Children's Levy
  8. Community Technology
Transportation & Parking:
  1. Transportation 

Elected Officials Service Area:

  1. Office of the City Auditor
  2. Office of the Mayor
  3. Commissioner of Public Affairs
  4. Commissioner of Public Safety
  5. Commissioner of Public Utilities
  6. Commissioner of Public Works
City Support Services:
  1. City Attorney
  2. Government Relations 
  3. Management & Finance 
  • Human Resources 
  • Internal Business Services 
  • Revenue & Financial Services 
  • Technology Services 
  • Chief Administrative Officer 
  • Citywide Projects

4.City Budget Office

5. Special Appropriations