Skip to Main Content View Text-Only

The City of Portland, Oregon

Charter, Code and Policies

City of Portland



More Contact Info

Section 2-301 The Departments.

The executive and administrative powers, authority and duties, not otherwise provided for herein, shall be distributed among at least five (5) departments as follows:

(a) Department of Public Affairs

(b) Department of Finance and Administration

(c) Department of Public Safety

(d) Department of Public Utilities

(e) Department of Public Works

Bureaus and their functions shall be fixed by the Council by ordinance. The distribution of the bureaus and work among departments shall be made and may be changed from time to time by the Mayor by order which shall be filed and preserved as an ordinance. The names of the departments may be changed in like manner. The Mayor may in like manner assign matters relating to any commission to a particular department. [May 3, 1913, part of new sec. 36; rev. 1914, sec. 54; 1928 pub., sec. 54; 1942 recod., sec. 2-201; rev. Nov. 6, 1962.]