A. Taxi Vehicle Certification. The Taxi Company shall regularly provide a list of applicant vehicles affiliated with the permitted Taxi Company for Director certification that vehicles meet all requirements pursuant to Chapter 16.40 on a form approved by the Director. Vehicles shall be certified by the Director and affiliated with a permitted Taxi Company prior to being used to provide taxi service on a form approved by the Director. Vehicles not meeting all required conditions shall not be certified and will not be allowed to operate as a Taxi Vehicle.
B. Term of Certified Taxi Vehicle. Certifications for Taxi Vehicles provided by the Director shall be valid for 1 year from the date of the initial certification. The Taxi Company shall provide a re-certification to the Director annually prior to the certification expiration and within 1 month of the expiration date on a form approved by the Director.
C. Application Process. Applications for Taxi Vehicle certification shall be made directly to an affiliated Taxi Company. The Taxi Company will regularly provide to the Director a Taxi Driver and vehicle application list, pursuant to certification requirements, that the vehicle meets all requirements before the vehicle shall operate as a Taxi Vehicle on a form approved by the Director.
D. Vehicle Registration, Licensing, and Insurance. All Taxi Vehicles shall maintain, at all times, vehicle registration, licensing, and insurance as required by the State of Oregon or the state in which such vehicle is registered.
E. Vehicle Age Requirements. No vehicle will be allowed to operate as a Taxi Vehicle following 10 years after the vehicle manufactured date, regardless of when the vehicle was purchased or put into service as a Taxi Vehicle.
F. Vehicle Safety Inspections. Each Taxi Vehicle shall pass an annual standardized vehicle safety test as performed by a National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) Blue Seal Recognized Shop or by an automotive technician with a current, valid ASE certification in any of the areas of ASE A4-A8. Inspections are required if the vehicle:
1. Is more than 1-year-old, based on model year;
2. Has 10,000 miles or more on its odometer; or
3. Has the “check engine” light illuminated, regardless of model year or mileage.
G. Taxi Vehicle Safety Certificate Requirements. Upon successful completion of the vehicle inspection, the ASE Blue Seal Recognized Shop or ASE Automotive Technician will provide to the Taxi Driver applicant a safety certificate stating that the vehicle passed the required safety inspection. The safety inspection checklist used by the ASE Blue Seal Recognized Shop or ASE Automotive Technician shall be completed on a form approved by the Director.
H. Vehicle Condition. Each Taxi Vehicle shall meet the following requirements:
1. Be kept in safe condition and good;
2. Be kept clean and in good appearance;
3. Be properly equipped, including but not limited to carrying a hands-free accessory for mobile devices, a standard first aid kit, and fire extinguisher; and
4. Meet State of Oregon Department of Environmental Quality motor vehicle emissions standards established for Portland Metro.
5. Failure to comply with any provision in this Subsection H. is a Class D violation subject to penalties provided in Sections 16.40.930 through 16.40.950.
I. Taxi Vehicle Re-certification. The Taxi Company shall provide a list of applicant vehicles for re-certification to the Director 1 month prior to the Taxi Vehicle certification expiration, on a form approved by the Director. Applicant vehicles shall meet all conditions and be consistent with Taxi Vehicle certification requirements pursuant to Sections 16.40.150 and 16.40.160 for re-certification. Vehicles not meeting all such conditions will not be re-certified as a Taxi Vehicle and shall not be allowed to operate as a Taxi Vehicle.
J. Unless otherwise noted, failure to comply with any provision in Section 16.40.150 is a Class B violation subject to penalties provided in Sections 16.40.930 through 16.40.950.