Skip to Main Content View Text-Only

The City of Portland, Oregon

Community & Civic Life

Promote the common good

Main: 503-823-4519

City/County Info: 503-823-4000

TDD: 503-823-6868

1221 SW 4th Ave, Suite 110, Portland, OR 97204

Subscribe to RSS feed

Most Recent

View Less

Spirit of Portland Awards Press Release


Marco Mejía, (503)-823-3093
Steph Routh: (503) 823-5907


Nominations Open for 35th Annual Spirit of Portland Awards

Shining a light on those who are advancing a more equitable city

(June 28, 2019) – The City of Portland’s Office of Community & Civic Life is now accepting nominations for the 35th Annual Spirit of Portland awards! All are invited to nominate a person or group that has helped create a better shared future for us all. Spirit of Portland Award nominations will be accepted now through July 30th, 2019 at 5:00pm.

The awards ceremony will be held in the month of October 2019.  This year’s award theme is “35 years on the road to 2035 growth, for a more prosperous, equitable, healthier and resilient city.”

"Since its inception in 1985, the Spirit of Portland Awards has recognized activists, community advocates, and a wide range of committed individuals who serve to advance the Portland community,” says Commissioner Chloe Eudaly. “Awardees embody our city’s culture, goals, and an overarching dedication to enriching the lives of their fellow Portlanders."

2019 is the 35th Anniversary of the Spirit of Portland Awards, so we have chosen the theme to be associated with the 2035 Comprehensive Plan for the City of Portland. The plan’s five principles guide the categories for nominations this year:

  • Economic Prosperity
  • Human Health
  • Environmental Health
  • Sandy Diedrich Environmental Stewardship
  • Equity
  • Resilience

The Spirit of Portland Awards are a recognition of local heroes and their service in advancing a more equitable Portland.  Each year, Portland City Council presents Spirit of Portland Awards to individuals and organizations who make outstanding contributions to our community.  A city’s most vital ingredient is its people, so nominate those who have helped Portland shine!

Nomination forms are available on our website ( or by contacting Marco Mejia,  at 503-823-3093 or email:

Nomination forms are currently available in English, Chinese, Spanish, Somali, Russian and Vietnamese. Forms can also be requested in any other language.

Spirit of Portland Award recipients are chosen by a selection committee comprised of representatives from the Mayor’s and City Commissioners’ offices, the Office of Community & Civic Life, community leaders, and previous Spirit of Portland winners.

### About the Office of Community & Civic Life

Civic Life connects the people of Portland with their City government to promote the common good. Its programs create a culture of collaboration, expanding possibilities for all Portlanders to contribute their knowledge, experience, and creativity to solve local problems and make life better in the city we all share.