In this issue: The Fire & Life Safety Plans Review team at BDS moved their completion rate from 20% to 90%: Find out how they did it!Read More…
55 SW Ash Street, Portland, OR 97204
NEW WEB FEATURE: read all of our news releases as they go out here: http://www.portlandoregon.gov/fire/news/index.cfm
Receive more info at our Facebook page here: https://www.facebook.com/PortlandFire
Carbon monoxide alarms that were installed when the law requiring them in Oregon homes are nearing the end of their useful life. Portland Fire & Rescue would like to remind residents to be safe and replace them before the holiday season when families use many fuel burning appliances at the same time.
On July 1, 2010, the Lofgren and Zander Memorial Act (Oregon Revised Statutes, 90.317) went into effect throughout Oregon, requiring landlords to ensure their properties have one or more properly functioning carbon monoxide (CO) alarms in or near all sleeping areas when they entered into new rental agreements. Since then, Oregon has increased the scope of the legislation, to require landlords to install CO alarms in all their properties, regardless of lease status. Oregon also now requires sellers of any residence, including one- and two-family homes, to install CO alarms. More information can be found at: Oregon State Legislature, http://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/90.317.
Even if the law does not pertain to your specific type of dwelling, fire officials urge everyone to be safe and install CO alarms now.
Today's newer 10-year CO alarms contain non-removable 10-year batteries. These alarms provide peace of mind because the batteries do not need to be changed. Simply replace the entire alarm at the end of its 10-year life.
PORTLAND FIRE & RESCUE EDUCATIONAL OUTREACH
To help with this educational, life safety outreach, First Alert has donated 250 carbon monoxide alarms to the Friends of Portland Fire & Rescue Foundation. To see if you qualify for one of these alarms, call PF&R's Smoke Alarm Hotline at 503-823-3752.
HOW MANY CARBON MONOXIDE ALARMS DO I NEED?
The U.S. Fire Administration (www.usfa.fema.gov) recommends that homes have carbon monoxide alarms installed in a central location outside each separate sleeping area and on every level of your home. More carbon monoxide facts can be found at www.firstalert.com.
Portland Fire & Rescue has been notified by the Insurance Service Office (ISO) that the fire protection rating for PF&R will remain at Class 2
Portland Fire & Rescue has been notified by the Insurance Service Office (ISO) that the fire protection rating for PF&R will remain at Class 2.
Insurance companies use ISO fire protection ratings to determine home owner and business insurance premiums. ISO evaluates fire department equipment, staffing, station locations, training, fire prevention efforts, the community water system, 9-1-1 systems and many other factors to assign a protection rating. The Insurance Service Office has been evaluating and assigning ratings to fire departments since 1971.
"Despite reductions in staffing due to budget cuts, we're very pleased that we've managed to receive a score of 81.29 and retain a Class 2 ISO rating, which plays a part in reducing everyone's cost of living in Portland. Whether or not you pay property insurance directly, Portland's strong ISO rating helps to keep premiums low, and these costs affect everyone," said Fire Chief Erin Janssens.
ISO scores range from 1.00 to 100.00. PF&R needed a minimum total score of 80.00 to remain a Class 2 rated city. PF&R would need a score of 90.00 to receive a Class 1 rating, which would lower property insurance rates by an additional 5-8% (depending on construction and occupancy, according to ISO). For the property owner paying $700 a year, this equates to a reduction of $35-$56. Multiplied by Portland's approximately 220,000 structures, Portland's Class 2 rating translates into a current savings ranging from $7.7 to over $12.3 million dollars. Conversely, if Portland slipped to a Class 3 rating, people would see an equivalent increase.
Lt. Fabian Jackson removed the badge from around the neck of his partner since 2008 at an emotional ceremony
Today, Lila (Portland Fire & Rescue's Arson Dog since 2008) ate her first bowl of food since starting her career seven years ago. To help in her work, her trainer and partner Lt. Fabian Jackson has only fed her bits of food from his hand in full training mode. Today, on the eve of her ninth birthday (the age all dogs who are part of the Alcohol Tobacco Firearms and Explosive (ATF&E) Accelerant Canine Detection Team (ACDT) Program must retire) Lila received a bowl of food from Lt. Jackson that she eagerly chowed down on in front of a bank of television cameras and colleagues from the bureau.
Lt. Jackson, a 27-year veteran with Portland Fire & Rescue, works with the investigations unit and acts as an ATF&E Task Force Officer as well. He and Lila have traveled all over the country to help sniff out accelerants and piece together the cause of fires. Today was an emotional one for Jackson as his loyal partner who has been by his side at all times for the past seven years will no longer be coming to work with him.
Lila started her career as an eight-week-old puppy training to be a guide dog for the blind in Texas. Due to her keen sense of smell and love for birds, Lila was redirected to the ACDT program. Lila arrived at the ATF&E canine training facility six weeks prior to Jackson’s arrival. Lila and Jackson spent the next six weeks learning their new craft and bonding.
Once graduated and certified, the team was called into action from as far north as Ferndale, Washington to as far south as Phoenix, Arizona with the ATF&E National Response Team (NRT). Lila has worked scenes as small as vehicle fires to as large as commercial buildings a city block long.
Lila has worked numerous fire scenes that have resulted in custodies and arson convictions throughout the states of Oregon and Washington. Lila can sniff out 30 flammable substances. When she detected something, she would sit and look at Jackson for a treat. He’d reward her with fish-flavored kibble.
One memorable conviction Lila helped with was when Portland Fire & Rescue investigators were looking to prove that the man suspected of setting a blaze at the home of his ex-girlfriend was in fact the arsonist. The suspect was violent and had threatened the homeowner. At the crime scene, there were no fingerprints and no traces of DNA. Lila picked up a trail of gasoline spread throughout the house and this evidence was used in part to convict the arsonist.
Lt. Jackson will be going to the ATF&E canine training facility to be assigned and train PF&R’s new arson dog. Lila will join Jackson and his family at home and spend her days relaxing: eating bowls of food, sniffing flowers instead of accelerants, and catching balls not arsonists. PF&R thanks Lila for her service and presented her with a new dog bed adorned with fire bureau patches.
Here's some more photos from today's event...
Due to the return of rain and cooler weather, the burn ban in effect for Multnomah County since July 1st has been lifted. Outdoor recreational fires, campfires and fires in outdoor fireplaces or chiminea type devices are again allowed throughout Multnomah County, including City of Portland, Gresham, Corbett, and Sauvie Island.
Backyard and agricultural burning is never allowed in the City of Portland, however jurisdictions having authority outside city limits, including Gresham, Corbett, and Sauvies Island, have lifted their respective bans and are allowing this burning today. Remember to always check with your local fire departments before any backyard or agricultural burning as this may change due to weather or air quality issues.
Download this new app and help save someone's life.
Portland Fire & Rescue is releasing today new technology that alerts people in Portland on their smartphones that they may have a chance to possibly save someone's life who is close by and in distress.
Implemented using Innovation Funding from the City of Portland, PF&R is launching PulsePoint Respond, an app that lets users know when a cardiac event is within their proximity; if they're trained in CPR, they may be able to make a difference before first responders can arrive.
PF&R is also releasing a second app called PulsePoint AED that lets users know where automatic external defibrillators (AED) are located nearby. The chance of saving a victim of cardiac arrest doubles when AEDs are used in addition to CPR.
The PulsePoint Respond app issues an alert and, once clicked, triggers a map to pop up on the smartphone of all registered users who are within a quarter mile of someone in cardiac distress. The PulsePoint AED version will also show the location of any nearby AED devices registered in PF&R's database. Users can help expand the AED database by registering AED locations through the app. Both of the free apps are available through Google Play or the Apple App Store.
New legislation signed by Gov. Kate Brown will require Oregon students to learn CPR before high school graduation. Portland Fire & Rescue also wants to encourage all citizens to get trained in CPR, learn how to use AEDs, and sign up to receive the PulsePoint alerts and respond if needed.
PulsePoint At a Glance: http://www.pulsepoint.org/pulsepoint-respond/
PulsePoint AED At a Glance http://www.pulsepoint.org/pulsepoint-aed/