As of June 2, 2009, Oregon law prohibits the sale, manufacturing, importing, or distribution of novelty/toylike lights within the state of Oregon.
What are They?
Many of the novelty/toylike lighters look like animals, miniature cars, music instruments, game pieces, and other toys and have audio or visual effects that make them appealing to children less than 10 years of age.
- Audio effects: includes music, animal sounds, whistles, buzzers, beepers or other noises not related to the flame-producing function of the lighter
- Visual effects: includes flashing lights, color-changing lights, and changing images
These novelty lighters are dangerous because many children are unable to tell the difference between a toy and a novelty lighter. By prohibiting their sale, children will be protected from a dangerous instrument that could encourage curiosity and invite unintentional misuse.
Examples of Prohibited Novelty/Toylike Lighters:
Below are photos of prohibited novelty/toylike lighters. Please note this is not a complete photo gallery of all prohibited novelty lighters.
Click here for more photos of prohibited novelty/toylike lighters.
Are there any Exceptions?
There are three exceptions to the Oregon Law (2009 House Bill 2365):
- Lighters manufactured before January 1, 1980.
- A lighter made permanently incapable of producing a flame or otherwise causing combustion.
- Standard lighters with logos, decals, decorative artwork, or heat-shrinkable sleeves.
What are the Civil Penalties?
- Manufacturers & Importers: $10,000*
- Wholesale Dealers: $1,000*
- Retailers: $500*
*Violators may be fined separately for each day they sell novelty/toylike lighters.
For additional and more specific information on the rules and laws, visit the Oregon State Police – Office of State Fire Marshal’s website at http://www.oregon.gov/OSP/SFM/LP_NTLL_Program.shtml or by phone at (503) 934-8264 or (503) 934-8285.
October 26, 2009