Skip to Main Content View Text-Only

The City of Portland, Oregon

Fire & Rescue

Always Ready, Always There

Phone: 503-823-3700

Fax: 503-823-3710

55 SW Ash Street, Portland, OR 97204

More Contact Info

Firehouse Recipe of the Week: Sweet and Sour Pork

14 Comments

 

Sweet and Sour Pork

Recipe courtesy of Retired Firefighter Mark Walkley, Station 7

 

 

 

Ingredients:  

  • 2 lbs. pork in 1” cubes
  • 1 medium onion 1” squares
  • 2 medium carrots ¼ “ thick
  • 1 clove garlic minced
  • 1 green pepper 1 “ squares
  • 1 can pineapple chunks
  • 2 medium tomatoes 1” cubes

Sauce:

  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon cornstarch
  • ¼ teaspoon ginger
  • 1 Tablespoon soy sauce
  • ¼ cup vinegar
  • ¼ cup chicken broth

Preparation:

  • Make the sauce. 
  • Brown the pork.
  • Remove and set aside.
  • Over high heat:  add carrot, onion and garlic.
  • Cook about 3 minutes.
  • Add pepper, pineapple, tomatoes and sauce.
  • Cook, stirring until it boils.
  • Add the pork and heat.
  • Serve over rice.

ENJOY!

 

  Portland Fire & Rescue We Respond: Always Ready, Always There

  June 9, 2010

14 Comments

Add a Comment

1

Mary Miller

January 4, 2014 at 9:17 AM

I have made this for my husband and found it to be delightful. It was easy, I had everything it called for in the pantry and I made a lot of points with the old guy. Thanks for posting this.

2

Bob

September 30, 2014 at 11:21 PM

I sub'ed a red bell pepper instead of tomatoes
(yes I still added the green bell pepper)
excellent and easy recipe. Thx guys

4

Bim Bam

July 4, 2016 at 2:12 PM

http://plankpose.com/glute-bridge/
http://plankpose.com/bird-dog/
http://plankpose.com/perfect_plank/
http://plankpose.com/runnerscorestrength/
http://plankpose.com/elbow-plank
http://plankpose.com/side-plank/
http://plankpose.com/plank-healthy-benefits/
http://plankpose.com/how-long-should-i-hold-a-plank-pose/
http://plankpose.com/core-killer-superman-plank/
http://plankpose.com/reverse-plank/
http://plankpose.com/elbow-vs-full-plank/
http://plankpose.com/7-common-mistakes-in-basic-plank/
http://plankpose.com/world-record-in-plank
http://plankpose.com/proper-plank-technique
http://plankpose.com/stop-praying
http://plankpose.com/10-reasons-why-we-love-plank/

5

han

August 26, 2016 at 7:56 PM

talk to his heart http://jrhonest.com/talk-to-his-heart-review/
what men secretly want http://jrhonest.com/what-men-secretly-want-review/
Diabetes 60 System Review http://jrhonest.com/diabetes-60-system-review/
The Venus Factor http://jrhonest.com/the-venus-factor-review/
Diabetes Escape Plan http://jrhonest.com/the-diabetes-escape-plan/
Fat Diminisher System Review http://jrhonest.com/fat-diminisher-system-review/
Yeast Infection No More http://jrhonest.com/yeast-infection-no-more-review/
The Tao of Badass Review http://jrhonest.com/the-tao-of-badass-review/
Adonis Golden Ratio Review http://jrhonest.com/adonisgoldenratio/
Survive The End Days Review http://jrhonest.com/survive-the-end-days-review/
The Magic Of Making Up http://jrhonest.com/themagic-of-makingup/
Morning Fat Melter http://jrhonest.com/the-morning-fat-melter-review/
Flat Belly Overnight http://jrhonest.com/flat-belly-overnight-review/
Millionaire’s Brain Academy http://jrhonest.com/millionaires-brain-academy-review/
Manifestation Miracle http://jrhonest.com/manifestation-miracle/
Pure Natural Healin http://jrhonest.com/pure-natural-healing-review/
Fat Obliterator http://jrhonest.com/fat-obliterator-free-pdf/
Fibo Machine Pro http://jrhonest.com/fibo-machine-pro-review/
SpecForce Abs http://jrhonest.com/the-specforce-abs-review/
Text The Romance Back 2.0 http://jrhonest.com/text-the-romance-back-2-0-review/
Text The Romance Back 2.0 http://freepdfebookdownload.org/text-the-romance-back-2-0-review/
Diabetes Reducer http://freepdfebookdownload.org/john-callahans-diabetes-reducer/
Diabetes Reducer http://jrhonest.com/diabetes-reducer-review/

7

Janet B

January 14, 2018 at 2:12 PM

I’ve been looking for a good sweet and sour pork recipe, and this looks really good. Thank you for posting this. We are Pacific Northwesterners too. We are from Western Washington. Can’t wait to make this! Also, thank you to you firefighters for risking your lives to fight fires. 👨🏼‍🚒👨🏼‍🚒👨🏼‍🚒👨🏼‍🚒👨🏼‍🚒👨🏼‍🚒👨🏼‍🚒

8

Herpes Blitz Protocol Review

April 27, 2018 at 11:04 PM

The Herpes Blitz Protocol works naturally. There are natural ingredients in the guise of home remedy that can help to fix the problem. Essentially, the Herpes simplex virus attacks the healthy cells, and takes over them. In the next step, the virus multiplies so that its army grows in numbers. Following this, the virus hides in from the immune system. Subsequently, the immune system cannot beat the virus since it cannot see it.

http://herpesblitzprotocolreview.com

9

diana

May 1, 2018 at 10:47 PM

http://jrhealthreviews.com/outback-vision-protocol-review/

http://jrhealthreviews.com/auto-lotto-processor-software-reviews/
http://jrhealthreviews.com/meridian-health-protocol-review/

http://jrhealthreviews.com/yoga-burn-booty-challenge-review/

http://jrhealthreviews.com/forex-master-method-evolution-review/

http://jrhealthreviews.com/the-faith-diet-review/

10

Irena

May 1, 2018 at 11:26 PM

http://honestforexreviews.org/outback-vision-protocol-review/

http://honestforexreviews.org/blood-pressure-optimizer-review/

http://honestforexreviews.org/nutrio2-supplement-review/

http://honestforexreviews.org/grs-ultra-review/

http://honestforexreviews.org/soothe-away-cream-review/

http://honestforexreviews.org/arctic-blast-drops-reviews/

http://honestforexreviews.org/meridian-health-protocol-review/

11

Agnes

May 1, 2018 at 11:51 PM

https://cbreviewfactory.com/zenith-brain-boost-review/

https://cbreviewfactory.com/barbarian-xl-review/

https://cbreviewfactory.com/ultra-fx10-ingredients-review/

https://cbreviewfactory.com/soothe-away-cream-review/

https://cbreviewfactory.com/arctic-blast-review/

https://cbreviewfactory.com/longevity-activator-review/

https://cbreviewfactory.com/herpes-blitz-protocol-review/

12

ebisi

May 2, 2018 at 3:11 AM

https://freepdfebookdownload.org/zenith-brain-boost-review/

https://freepdfebookdownload.org/grs-ultra-supplement-review/

https://freepdfebookdownload.org/blood-sugar-shield-review/

https://freepdfebookdownload.org/longevity-activator-review/

https://freepdfebookdownload.org/herpes-blitz-protocol-review/

14

Krishna Harinath

June 20, 2018 at 4:28 AM

Thank you for all this great information Its really Awesome
http://www.abcfortechnologytraining.com

Please review our Code of Conduct rules before posting a comment to this site.
Report Abuse (Please include the specific topic and comment for the fastest response/resolution.)

Post a Comment
Name
E-mail (visible to admins only)
 Remember Info Yes   No
Comments
Spam Prevention In the Pacific Northwest, what state is Portland in?