Station 23: A data-driven look at the recently reopened house. Also: Apparatus Insider goes under the hood of the new 2017 Pierce EnforcerRead More…
55 SW Ash Street, Portland, OR 97204
Daylight Savings Time comes to an end this weekend; it's time to move your clocks back an hour at 2:00 am on Sunday, November 7th! Portland Fire & Rescue is also encouraging citizens to use the opportunity to test the smoke alarms in your home. However, many citizens have smoke alarms with 10-year batteries so the old slogan, ‘Change your clock, Change your battery' may not be correct for all households.
According to the Oregon State Fire Marshal’s Office, from 2005 through 2009 there was not a smoke alarm present or working in 39% of the residential fires here in Oregon. That resulted in $105 million in property loss, 283 injuries, and 46 fatalities.
Portland Fire & Rescue reminds you that working smoke alarms provide an early warning to a fire, in turn allowing you vital minutes to escape.
and your family’s chances
of surviving a fire.
To maintain smoke alarms in your home, simply test each alarm it to be sure the battery is working, vacuuming the alarm to get rid of dust and cobwebs, and inspecting the alarm to determine if it is 10 years old or older. If so, PF&R recommends that you replace the entire alarm. If you do need to replace your battery, follow the manufacturer’s instructions to be sure you replace it with the correct type.
Smoke alarm laws in Oregon are different from most other states. Since 1999, law requires ionization-only smoke alarms sold in the state to have a hush feature; and if an ionization-only smoke alarm is also solely battery-operated, it must also come with a 10-year battery.
Remembers and practice these safety tips:
For more smoke alarm and fire safety information, contact your Portland Fire & Rescue at (503) 823-3700.
Portland Fire & Rescue
We Respond: Always Ready, Always There
November 5, 2010