New steps will be taken to help us reach our aggressive goal of zero fire deaths.Read More…
55 SW Ash Street, Portland, OR 97204
On Saturday, March 26, 2011, firefighters from Portland Fire & Rescue (PF&R) hosted Certified Child Passenger Safety Technicians and trained volunteers from the Child Safety Seat Resource Center to conduct a Child Passenger Safety Clinic at an out-of-service PF&R Fire Station.
Each month, fire agencies across Oregon host Child Passenger Safety Clinics at fire stations for the public. Trained technicians and volunteers are available at these clinics to work one-on-one with parents and caregivers to correctly install and inspect child safety seats. Each seat takes about 30 minutes to install and check for damage, size, and age appropriateness.
Child Passenger Safety Check Up events are a valuable community resource designed to increase the percent of car seats used correctly, educate participants about safely transporting their children, evaluate all passengers under 13 years of age to make sure they ride safely, and raise awareness of local, community traffic safety efforts.
Click here to access the April 2011 safety clinic schedule.
Portland Fire & Rescue reminds you of the following important State of Oregon Child Occupant Protection Laws:
The failure to properly use safety belts or child restraints is a Class D traffic violation with a $142.00 fine (ORS 811.210 and ORS 815.055, effective October 1, 2009).
For additional resources, including educational videos, checkup brochures, and information on the Oregon Child Passenger law, visit the Child Safety Seat Resource Center's website here.
Portland Fire & Rescue
We Respond: Always Ready, Always There
April 1, 2011