The May 2017 edition of Cogglevation is here! In this issue: PF&R's Cancer Reduction Plan and information about the Zero is Our Hero campaign.Read More…
55 SW Ash Street, Portland, OR 97204
On July 1, 2010, the Lofgren and Zander Memorial Act (Oregon Revised Statutes, 90.317) went into effect throughout Oregon, requiring landlords to ensure their properties have one or more properly functioning carbon monoxide (CO) alarms in or near all sleeping areas when they entered into new rental agreements. Since then, Oregon has increased the scope of the legislation, to require landlords to install CO alarms in all their properties, regardless of lease status. Oregon also now requires sellers of any residence, including one- and two-family homes, to install CO alarms. More information can be found at: Oregon State Legislature, http://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/90.317.
Even if the law does not pertain to your specific type of dwelling, fire officials urge everyone to be safe and install CO alarms now.
Today's newer 10-year CO alarms contain non-removable 10-year batteries. These alarms provide peace of mind because the batteries do not need to be changed. Simply replace the entire alarm at the end of its 10-year life.
PORTLAND FIRE & RESCUE EDUCATIONAL OUTREACH
To help with this educational, life safety outreach, First Alert has donated 250 carbon monoxide alarms to the Friends of Portland Fire & Rescue Foundation. To see if you qualify for one of these alarms, call PF&R's Smoke Alarm Hotline at 503-823-3752.
HOW MANY CARBON MONOXIDE ALARMS DO I NEED?
The U.S. Fire Administration (www.usfa.fema.gov) recommends that homes have carbon monoxide alarms installed in a central location outside each separate sleeping area and on every level of your home. More carbon monoxide facts can be found at www.firstalert.com.