Skip to Main Content View Text-Only

The City of Portland, Oregon

Office of Equity and Human Rights

Realizing Equity. Enhancing the City of Portland.

Phone: 503-823-4433

Fax: 503-823-4420

421 SW 6th Avenue, Suite 500, Portland, OR 97204

More Contact Info

DREAM Act Letter to Council

October 12, 2009

Honorable City of Portland Council Members,

Portland's Human Rights Commission applauds your resolve as Council

members to bring state and federal attention to the struggles that immigrant

students face in their attempts to access higher education. As members of the

Portland Human Rights Commission, we believe that The "DREAM Act"

unleashes the vast potential of thousands of young students, giving them the

freedom to dream of a future with genuine educational and employment

opportunities. The DREAM Act specifically would allow young people in our

community who came to this country with their parents as young children – and

who have been educated in our school systems -- the same opportunities as their

peers. The act also restores states’ rights to determine residency requirements for

in-state tuition and establishes a path to legal status and eventual citizenship for

undocumented youth.

A growing number of states (including Utah, Illinois, Oklahoma, Washington,

Texas, California, and New York) have recently enacted state legislation

providing immigrant students greater access to in-state tuition rates. Passing the

resolution before you sends an important message to Oregon citizens and the

rest of the country.

We, the undersigned, have deliberated on these resolutions. We believe that the

provisions of the DREAM Act bring us closer as a nation to ensuring that all

children and youth can fulfill their fundamental right to education. We thank

you in advance for furthering educational equity through your resolutions in

support of the DREAM Act.


Portland Human Rights Commissioners:

Jeff Cogen, Chair Rev. Hector Lopez

Abdul Majidi, Vice-Chair Donna D. Maxey

Arwen Bird Evertte L. Rice

Donita Fry Kathleen Saadat

Anastasia Godsey Edmund Sherman

Moloy K. Good

Emily G. Gottfried

Tricia Knoll