Skip to Main Content View Text-Only

Neighborhood Involvement

Building inclusive, safe and livable neighborhoods and communities.

ONI Main: 503-823-4519

City/County Info: 503-823-4000

TDD: 503-823-6868

1221 SW 4th Ave, Suite 110, Portland, OR 97204

Spirit of Portland Awards

  • Judy Bluehorse Skelton 2015 awardee Awarded the Sandy Diedrich Environmental Stewardship Award

  • Enough is Enough 2015 awardee Brenda Davis

  • Commissioner Dan Saltzman Excited awardees wave to their supporters in the balcony.

  • Spirit of Portland Award night Tres leche cake by La Perlita Bakery

2016 Spirit of Portland Awards

The Mayor and Commissioners of the City of Portland invite you to join them as they recognize and celebrate the winners of the 32nd Annual Spirit of Portland Awards.

The City Council presents Spirit of Portland Awards each year to individuals and groups who make outstanding contributions to our community. Please nominate an individual, business, organization, neighborhood or business association that has created a project, service or event that has helped Portland shine!

Save the Date!

The Awards Ceremony will be held on Tuesday, December 13, 2016, 6:00 PM, Double Tree Hotel at 1000 NE Multnomah, Portland

 The 2016 Spirit of Portland Awardees by Categories are:

 Outstanding Individual Leadership Awards:

- Community Leader of the Year:  Tony Defalco, Living Cully Eco district Coordinator / Candi Brings- Plenty, LGBTQ Two spirit leader and Community Activist

- Young Leader of the Year: Clarissa Alexis Ann Stamp, Promotes family, community And native cultural traditions

- City Employee of the Year: Officer Natasha Haunsperger, PPB integrated cross cultural collaborations  

 Outstanding Organization Leadership Awards:

- Community Group/Organization of the Year: The August Wilson Red Door Project, Race and Racial Ecology conversations in Portland

- Neighborhood Association of the Year: Foster-Powell Neighborhood Association  

- Business of the Year: People, Places, Things – English Learning Program

 Outstanding Individual or Organization Leadership Awards:

- Equity in Practice Partnership of the Year: Janis McDonald and Staff, PBOT Sunday Parkways and Safe Routs to School

- Making a Difference Award: Angela Jarvis-Holland, NW Down Syndrome Association / All Born in  

- Sandy Diedrich Environmental Stewardship of the Year: Paul Lumley, Columbia River Inter-Tribal Fish Commission  

Commissioners’ Awards

Mayor   Hales

-Jordan   Menashe, Responsiveness to the Housing and Homelessness State of Emergency in   Portland

-The Street Level Gang Outreach   (SLGO), providing prevention, intervention and resources to youth and   families


Commissioner   Amanda Fritz

-Maryhelen   Kincaid, Exceptional Community Leader

-Karla Moore-Love,   Outstanding City Employee


Commissioner   Nick Fish

-Tamala   Newsome, Principal at Rosa Parks Elementary School

- Vanport   Mosaic - Lost City, Living Memories: Through the Voices of Its Residents 


Commissioner   Dan Saltzman

-Senator   Michael Dembrow for his instrumental numerous contributions

- Portland   Fire & Rescue’s Station 3 Shift C Firefighters & Battalion Chiefs   James Klum and Scott Beyers


Commissioner   Steve Novick

-Mychal Tettah, Executive Director Community   Cycling Center

- Better Block PDX Project


Spirit of Portland Award recipients are chosen by a selection committee composed of representatives from the Mayor’s and City Commissioners’ offices, the Office of Neighborhood Involvement, the Neighborhood District Coalition offices, Diversity and Civic Leadership Program partners, Business Associations, non-profit community organizations, and past award winners.

For more information contact Marco Mejia at 503-823-3093 or

Limited English proficiency (LEP) and ADA Accommodations:

To help ensure equal access to programs, services and activities, the City of Portland will reasonably modify policies/procedures and provide auxiliary aids/services to persons with disabilities and for those for whom English is a second language. Call 503-823-3093 or TTY 503-823-6868 to request assistance with accommodations.


Past Winners: 1985 - 2015

Previous winners of the Spirit of Portland Awards from 1985 through 2015

2016 Spirit of Portland Nomination Forms

Nomination forms for 2016 Spirit of Portland awards.

Spirit of Portland 2015 Awardees

Award recipients for 2015 Spirit of Portland awards