Skatepark Stats Constructed in 2008, the skatepark is 10,000 sq ft, featuring 8,000 sq ft of snake run and 2,000 sq ft of unique perimeter features including a wall ride, pump bumps, tranny trench, and vert tranny to slappy curb. The snake run includes a 9-ft-deep bowl with concrete coping and tractor seat; the midsection has three hips and a rolled lip design.
Swiss immigrant Ulrich Gabriel arrived in 1890 and eventually bought and farmed property south of what is now Vermont Street, and operated the Pine Creek Dairy. He raised corn, wheat, and potatos, but his main income came from his dairy herd.
In October 1950, the city purchased an 87-acre tract of land featuring two small creeks and wooded areas between Vermont and Canby Streets for $120,000. Part of the property, referred to as Gabriel Acres, gave the park its name.