
 
 

 
 

 

 

 

 

Equity Barriers in Applicant Screening for Portland Rental Housing 

Summary of key report findings  
                                                             

Screening 
Process 
Element 

Equity Barriers Relevant Local Screening 
Practices* (based on informal 
survey of 15 property managers) 

Current Protections in 
Oregon 
 

Suggested Practices** and 
Model Legislation  
 

Initial 
Application & 
Screening Fees 

Potential for illegal discrimination 
through ignoring certain 
applications.  Combined cost of 
individual fees for multiple 
applications.  Automatic rejection of 
“incomplete” forms and forms with 
“falsified” information.   

Screening fees range from $35-50 
per application, 7/9 charge $42 or 
above.  14/15 do not consider 
applications with “incomplete” or 
“falsified” information.  Of these 14, 
only 2 return incomplete 
applications for correction. 

Screening fees limited to actual 
screening cost and must be 
refunded if no screen 
performed (ORS 90.295).  
Agent must respond to 
application “within a 
reasonable time” if charging 
fee. 

Washington requires agents to give 
applicants with “incomplete” forms 72 
hours’ notice before rejecting (RCW 
59.18).  Seattle has a “first in time” law 
requiring agents to time-stamp 
applications and process them in the 
order received (SMC 14.08). 

ID 
Requirements 
& Credit 
Screening 

Automatic rejection of applicants 
with no credit score.  Inaccurate 
credit reports leading to rejection of 
qualified applicants.  Automatic 
rejection of applicants who do not 
provide government-issued photo 
ID and/or a Social Security Number 
(where only exception is proof of 
legal alien status). 

7/15 require government-issued 
photo ID.  5/6 require or ask for 
driver’s license # and Social 
Security Number (or proof of legal 
alien status) in initial application.  
6/15 require good credit and/or 
reject applicants with no credit 
rating (vs. 7/15 which reject only 
for negative credit).  Only 4/15 
make exceptions for medical or 
student loan debt or if the applicant 
is on a repayment plan. 

Federal law requires agents 
provide applicants a copy of 
their credit report, with 
contact information for the 
credit screening company, if 
this is the reason for rejection.  
Rejection based purely on 
failure to provide driver’s 
license or Social Security 
Number often considered Fair 
Housing violation (though 
enforcement varies). 

California bans housing discrimination 
based on immigration status and requires 
alternative credit ID consideration during 
existing tenant rescreening 
(Undocumented Immigrant Protection 
Act).  FHCO advice: Accept “alternative 
ID” (school photo ID, foreign passport, 
financial records, etc.).  Run credit checks 
using Individual Taxpayer Identification 
Numbers or allow applicant to prove 
financial soundness through income and 
bill payment records.     

Income 
Requirements 

Potential for illegal discrimination 
through selective information about 
requirements.  Applicant inability to 
meet high income thresholds.  Note: 
Income requirements often 
intended to avoid cost-burden. 

9/11 require applicants make at 
least 3x monthly rent.  Applicants 
below minimum income can often 
be accepted with co-signer or higher 
security deposit, though agent 
discretion varies widely. 

Source-of-income 
discrimination illegal (ORS 
659A).  City-regulated 
properties require all incomes 
of 1.5x monthly rent to be 
considered. 

FHCO Advice: Companies should set clear 
policies on allowing applicants who 
cannot meet income requirements to be 
accepted with a co-signer or higher 
security deposit, leaving minimum 
discretion to individual agents. 

                                                                     *data should not be considered final      **based on Fair Housing Council of Oregon suggested best practices 
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Rental History 
Screening 

Rejection of applicants with no 
rental history or no past landlord 
reference.  Automatic rejection 
based on past evictions or negative 
landlord references.  Automatic 
rejection based on past noise or 
disturbance complaints. 

7/13 require 1-2 yrs of verifiable 
rental or mortgage history, 2/13 
require 3 yrs.  3/13 require at least 
two landlord references (regardless 
of total rental history length).  10/13 
require 3-5 yrs eviction-free history, 
3/13 require 7 yrs or longer.  10/13 
reject based on past noise or 
disturbance complaints, only 3/10 
limit this to cases “when the 
landlord would not re-rent” and only 
3/10 ignore complaints over 1-2 yrs 
old.  Only 1/13 considers excessive 
rent burden before rejecting for past 
evictions. 

Eviction actions which were 
dismissed or are over 5 yrs old 
cannot be used as grounds for 
rejection (ORS 90.303).  Rejection of 
domestic violence, stalking or sexual 
assault survivors based solely on 
past crimes, evictions or noise and 
disturbance complaints related to 
their trauma is illegal (ORS 90.449). 

Minnesota has strict requirements 
on information rental history 
screening companies must include 
when reporting past evictions, and 
dismissed evictions can be expunged 
from public record (MS 484.014).  
California keeps eviction filings 
confidential unless the landlord 
receives a positive judgement and 
carries out the eviction (AB 2918).  
FHCO advice: Accept professional 
references if applicants cannot 
provide landlord references.  Give 
applicants the opportunity to 
respond to negative references. 

Criminal 
Background 
Checks 

Potential for illegal discrimination 
through selective explanation of 
policies.  Rejection based on past 
criminal record without 
consideration of extenuating 
circumstances.  Use of “the box” to 
automatically reject applicants with 
criminal records without 
considering other qualifications.  

4/5 ask whether applicants have 
been convicted of a crime (“using 
the box”) as part of their initial 
application.  2/14 automatically 
reject registered sex offenders 
regardless of how long ago their 
offense occurred, and 10/14 may do 
the same for some drug offenses. 

HUD regulations consider blanket 
rejection based on past arrests or 
convictions discriminatory, agents 
required to consider individual 
circumstances (does not apply to 
registered sex offenders in public 
housing or to drug manufacturing & 
distribution).  Rejection based on 
criminal charges resulting in 
acquittal or case dismissal is illegal 
(ORS 90.303). 

Seattle bans rejections based on 
arrests which did not lead to a 
conviction, juvenile criminal 
records, expunged, vacated or sealed 
convictions, or convictions over 2 
yrs old (SMC 14.09).  FHCO advice: 
Screen for criminal background only 
after confirming applicant meets all 
other qualifications (“ban the box”).  
Consider past convictions only from 
within the past 3 or 5 yrs. 

Reasonable 
Accommodation 
and Rejection 
Appeals 
Processes 

Unclear appeals process means 
qualified applicants improperly 
rejected.  Unclear reasonable 
accommodation process can create 
barriers for applicants with 
disabilities.  

8/15 do not specify clear procedures 
for submitting reasonable 
accommodations requests.  5/15 do 
not specify clear procedures for 
appealing applications directly to 
the agent or the agent’s employer.  

Reasonable accommodations 
protected under Fair Housing law.  
“Pet rent” or “pet deposit” for 
service or companion animals is 
illegal (ORS 90.300).  Agents that 
charge screening fees must send 
written rejection notice & give 
reason upon request (ORS 90.304).  

Minneapolis & Sacramento County 
incentivize or require landlord 
training courses.  Washington 
requires rejection notice with 
specified format including appeal 
process (RCW 59.18.257).  
Minnesota requires rental history 
screening companies to notify 
agents when applicant information 
is corrected (MS 504B.173). 

                                                                     *data should not be considered final      **based on Fair Housing Council of Oregon suggested best practices  


