Skip to Main Content View Text-Only

Police Bureau

Sworn to protect. Dedicated to serve.

Phone: 503-823-0000

Fax: 503-823-0342

Non-Emergency: 503-823-3333

1111 S.W. 2nd Avenue, Portland, OR 97204

Traffic Citations

Fee Schedule for Traffic Violations

The following fee schedule for services by the Portland Police Bureau is hereby established pursuant to Portland City Code 3.20.360 and Oregon Revised Statutes 192.440(3):

Traffic Citations (Citation Number will begin with letter prefix ZA, EU, EA, or EV)

Oregon Revised Statutes 153.076(3) and ORS 135.815 et. seq. require the City to disclose the following if the City possesses:

1. Names of persons who will testify at the trial: The citing Officer(s).

2. Officer notebook entries or other written or recorded statements of witnesses who will testify: This is available from the City. See below.

3. Recorded or written statements or memoranda of oral statements made by the defendant: See below.

4. Any expert reports or statements that will be offered at trial: The citing Officer(s).

5. Any documents or tangible objects that will be offered at trial or were obtained from the defendant: This may be available from the City. See below.

6. Known records of criminal convictions of trial witnesses: Not applicable.

7. The occurrence of a search or seizure: Not applicable.

 

[2] Citations that begin with letter “ZA”:

The fee for a copy of the officer’s notebook entry response is $39.00

 

Citations that begin with the letters “EU, EA, or EV”:

Officer notebook entries are not written with electronic citations.

 

[3] Citations that begin with letter “ZA”:

Written statements, if any exist, may be found on the citation maintained in the court file. Neither the Police Bureau, nor the officer, retains a copy of those notes. To inquire on how to obtain a copy of the officer’s notes, contact the Multnomah County Courthouse File Room at 503-988-3003.

 

Citations that begin with the letters “EU, EA, or EV”:

Written statements, if any exist, may be found in the “Officer’s Notes” section of the electronic citation. The fee for a copy of the officer notes section of an electronic citation is $20.00.

[5] In the event the violation was recorded by an in-car Mobile Video Recording system (MVR), the defendant would have been informed of the recording at the time of the traffic stop. A compact disc of the traffic stop, if it exists, is available for $50.00

For violation charges for which a police report was written, for example a Tow Report or an Oregon Traffic Crash Report, the fee is $30.00. The fee includes a copy of the first five pages of the report. If the report exceeds five pages, an additional charge of $2.00 for each additional page will apply. When a search is conducted and a report is not found, the $30.00 fee will not be refunded.

For traffic violation charges issued injunction with felony and/or misdemeanor charges, a police report may have been written. You must contact the Multnomah County District Attorney Discovery Desk at 503-988-3018 for all discovery matters. We will handle traffic violation matters once the criminal charges have been adjudicated and/or the traffic violation charges have been separated from the criminal charges and the traffic violations charges have been set for trial in traffic court.

Any documents that do not fall into the above categories but are in the possession of the Portland Police Bureau may be available through a public records request. The City is entitled to recover its costs in providing discovery and public records documents.

 

Officer Training Records:

Training records show when an officer took training courses. The fee for the records is $20.00.

 

Identification number of the radar or laser device:

An identification number for the radar or laser device may be on the front of the citation. If the number is not on the front, it may be on the back of the court copy of a “ZA” citation.

 

Speed Measuring Device Maintenance Records:

Maintenance records may be on file for the radar or laser device. The fee for maintenance records is $20.00 for each device. To identify the appropriate records, the identification number for the device must be provided.

 

Calibration Certificate:

A calibration certificate may be on file for the radar or laser device. These certificates are issued by the manufacturer at the time of shipment to the Portland Police Bureau. The fee for the calibration certificate is $20.00 for each device. To identify the appropriate records, the identification number for the device must be provided.

 

Photo Radar, Fixed Camera Speed & Red Light Camera Citations (Citation No. will begin with letter prefix PR or PRL)

 

Citation Packet for Photo Radar and Fixed Camera Speed Violations .$ 25.00 per packet.

The packet includes color photographs of the car and driver; a copy of the citation; Notice of Speed Law Violation; a Certificate of Innocence; the Photo Radar Visual Observation Log with Photo Radar Equipment Checklist; a list of Photo Radar sign locations; and a copy of the radar unit’s certification.

Citation Packet for Red Light Camera Violations . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ 25.00 per packet

The packet includes color photographs of the car and driver; a copy of the citation; Notice of Speed Law Violation; a Certificate of Innocence; the Service and Inspection Log; a diagram of the Red Light Camera Photography; a list of Red Light Camera sign locations; and a copy of the Oregon Law that pertains to Red Light Camera.

The material contained in the citation packets is PROVIDED AS discovery for traffic violations, per ORS 153.076(3). The items in bold ARE INCLUDED in the original citation notice SENT TO THE REGISTERED OWNER in the mail.

Material or information, other than what is provided in the citation packets, may be obtained through public records requests to the Portland Police Bureau Traffic Division.

 

Officer Notebook Entry:

Officers do not maintain notebook entries for Photo Radar and Red Light Camera citations.

Officer Training Records:

Photo Radar and Red Light Camera training is conducted by the vendor and may not be listed on an officer’s training record.

Requests

Request a Public Record

 

In your request please include the following:

• Your name, address, and phone number.

• The citation number.

• The item(s) you are requesting.

Allow two to three weeks for processing.

For more information, contact the Traffic Discovery Desk at 503-823-2226.