Skip to Main Content View Text-Only

The City of Portland, Oregon

Regional Disaster Preparedness Organization

Unified. Prepared. Resilient.

Phone: 503-823-5386

FAX: 503-823-3903

Structure and Governance

RDPO membership is open to all jurisdictions, non-governmental organizations, and private-sector businesses that have a role in building disaster preparedness capabilities in the Portland Metropolitan Region. Agencies and organizations can participate through one of the RDPO committees, work groups, or task forces. Committee meetings are open to all participants and the public. However, each committee is structured around voting members that represent different political, geographical, or discipline perspectives and interests in the region. 

RDPO structure diagram

Policy Committee

The Policy Committee ensures accountability for effective coordination on disaster preparedness throughout the five-county region. Membership consists of publicly elected officials from the region. Of the 17 voting members, five are chosen from county elected leaders, one from Metro, and the remainder comes from cities in the region (two cities per county plus the City of Portland).

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee develops and annually reviews the 3-year RDPO Strategic Plan, evaluates progress, and promotes the strategic alignment of regional and local programs. Voting membership consists of 16 executive-level leaders, including a representative from each of the five counties, a City of Portland representative, leadership from each of the major discipline groups (i.e., law enforcement, fire, public works, public health, and public safety communications), a private-sector and non-profit sector representative, a health care system representative, and the Program Committee Chair.

Program Committee

The Program Committee coordinates input for development of the RDPO Strategic Plan and oversees implementation of the Strategic Plan by the Work Groups. Comprised of Chairpersons from each of the discipline-specific Work Groups, the Program Committee has the unique ability to identify interdisciplinary initiatives and collaborate on implementation.

Grants and Finance Committee

The Grants and Finance Committee oversees use of grants and other funding sources in implementing regional projects to ensure transparency, accountability, and financial stewardship. The Committee is comprised of grants/finance managers from each of the five counties and the City of Portland, representatives from Oregon Emergency Management, and the RDPO Manager.

Work Groups and Task Forces

The Work Groups bring together local agency, private-sector, and non-governmental organization representatives from the region who work in discipline areas that are highly involved in disaster preparedness (see list below).  Each Work Group focuses on a discipline or functional area, determines its own members, and works to implement a self-produced annual Work Plan that supports the goals of the 3-year Strategic Plan.

Task Forces are created by the Program Committee when there are projects that require collaboration among several of the Work Groups, e.g. disaster debris management planning. Task Forces are time-limited and membership is determined based on specific project needs.

Current Work Groups, Sub-Committees, and Task Forces

  1. Animal Multi-Agency Coordination Group (Animal MAC)
  2. Citizen Corps Sub-Committee (sub-committee of REMTEC)
  3. Emergency Management Work Group (REMTEC)
  4. EOC Training Sub-Committee (sub-committee of REMTEC)
  5. Fire and Emergency Medical Services Work Group
  6. Law Enforcement Work Group (LEWG)
  7. Mitigation and Recovery Sub-Committee (sub-committee of REMTEC)
  8. NW Health Preparedness Organization (NWHPO)
  9. Portland Dispatch Centers Communications Consortium (PDCCC)
  10. Public Health Work Group
  11. Public Information Officers Work Group
  12. Public Works Work Group
  13. Regional Disaster Debris Management Planning Task Force
  14. Regional Disaster Preparedness Messaging Task Force
  15. Regional Disaster Sanitation Task Force
  16. Regional Mass Shelter Task Force
  17. Regional Multi-Agency Coordination System (RMACS) Coordinators and Advisors Group 
  18. Resource Management Sub-Committee (sub-committee of REMTEC)
  19. Transit Work Group
  20. WebEOC Sub-Committee (sub-committee of REMTEC)