Recycling old computers and TVs is required by law in Oregon – it’s also easy and free.Read More…
Oregon was the first state to create a Bottle Bill back in 1971. Oregonians now get 10 cents for every deposit bottle they return.
On January 1, Oregon’s Bottle Bill expanded to include more redeemable bottles; now most beverages in plastic or glass bottles, or metal cans, from 4 ounces up to 1.5 liters are included in Oregon’s bottle redemption program.
While all beverage containers can still be recycled in your home or work recycling, recycling them through redemption centers allows you to earn back the 10-cent refunds or donate the refunds to a local nonprofit.
New! Coffee, tea, kombucha, energy and sports drinks, hard cider (under 8.5 percent ABV), and juice beverages in plastic or glass bottles or metal cans now have a 10-cent redemption. See the full list of newly added beverage containers.
Soda, beer, and water beverages in plastic or glass bottles or metal cans continue to have a 10-cent redemption.
The beverages not included in the Bottle Bill are milk (dairy and plant-based), infant formula, meal-replacement drinks, wine and distilled spirits, and hard cider over 8.5 percent ABV. See the full list of beverages not included in the Oregon Bottle Bill.
While these bottles don’t have a 10-cent deposit, you can still recycle them in your home or work recycling.
Where to drop off your bottles
While some grocery stores still have bottle redemption areas, there are also BottleDrop centers around Portland that make redemption fast and easy. Look up the closest locations to you.
Never used BottleDrop before? This step-by-step photo tutorial walks you through it.
Raise money for a local nonprofit
It’s now easier than ever to collect and donate bottles: Pick up bags coded for your favorite local nonprofit, fill them up with deposit bottles at home or work, and then drop the whole bag off at a bottle drop center. No need to feed the bottles into a machine one at a time, they’ll take the whole bag.
Find out how to collect deposit bottles to support your favorite nonprofit.
Learn more: FAQs about Oregon’s Bottle Bill