OREGON MOPED, MOTORIZED SCOOTER, POCKET BIKE GUIDE

MAX MAX
RIDE ON RIDE ON BIKE RIDE IN POSSIBLE
DESCRIPTION m LICENSE REGISTRATION INSURANCE HELMET m LIGHTS C;SQ:EAE%LE ALSLI?E‘Q:)ED SIDEWALK PATH/LANE CROSSWALK DUl OREGON VEHICLE CODE

ELECTRIC SCOOTER 16 YES YES 24 15 YES 2?11 jﬁg 3113 g;g
GAS SCOOTER MPH MPH
as — Maximum displacement = 35cc g}jg}g g}iggj
Electric — Maximum output = 1000 watfs ’ '
Approved lighting must be used when operating under limited visibility.
Not capable of going faster than 24 mph on level ground. Use may be restricted by local jurisdictions.
POCKET BIKE - - - - - - - - - - - - YES g?lggg g}jg‘;’g
MINI MOTORCYCLE Can operate only on private property with owner's permission. 814.260 814320

No regulations are listed as these are not legal to operate on highways or premises open to the public.

Since they are considered a motor vehicle you will be subject to any number of violations if you operate on public roadways or
m premises open fo the public.

These are not motor assisted scooters because the engine is more than 35 cc and can go faster than 24 mph on level ground.

They do not meet federal safety standards so they can not be a motorcycle or moped.

MOPED 16 YES YES YES YES NO YES 30 - NO ONLY NO YES 801.345 814.260
DOT MPH UNDER 811.440 814.310
. If it has a combustion engine, the engine must be 35.01 to 50cc. HUMAN 814.200 814.320
Must be unable to travel more than 30 mph on a level road surface. POWER
Must not require clutching or shifting by the operator affer the power drive system is engaged.
Requires a driver license to operate (but not a motorcycle endorsement].
Requires registration and insurance fo operate on public roadways and premises open fo the public.
If the vehicle exceeds either maximum capable speed or engine size, it is a motorcycle.
SEGWAY 16 NO NO NO NO NO YES 15 15 YES YES YES YES 801.259 814.552
MPH MPH 811.440 814.554
. . " . 814.550
Is an electric personal assistive mobility device.
Can operate in bicycle lanes and paths, sidewalks and highways with speed limits of 35 mph or less, unless local laws limit uses.
[Subject to any applicable provisions.|
Maximum speed is 15 mph. Approved lighting must be used when operating under limited visibility.
ELECTRIC ASSISTED 16 NO NO NO NO  RESTRICTED  YES 20 - NO YES YES YES 801.258 814.405
BICYCLE MPH 807.020 814.410
814.400 815.280
Is considered a bicycle, rather than a motor vehicle, for purposes of the Oregon Vehicle Code, except when otherwise specifically
provided by statute.
Has fully operative pedals for human propulsion and an electric motor with power output not more than 1,000 watts.
Not capable of going faster than 20mph on level ground.
Approved lighting must be used when operating under limited visibility.
- NO NO NO YES  RESTRICTED  YES - - YES YES YES YES 801150 814.420
UNDER 814400 815280
16 814.410

Every person riding a bicycle upon a public way is subject to the provisions applicable to and has the same rights and duties as the driver
of any other vehicle concerning operating on highways, vehicle equipment and abandoned vehicles—with limited exceptions.
Approved lighting must be used when operating under limited visibility.
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For questions regarding operator traffic violations and operation of one of these types of vehicles with a suspended driving privilege, contact law enforcement.

Information drawn from Oregon Department of Transportation webpage, www.oregon.gov/ODOT/Forms/DMV/6619.pdf 735-6619 (10-14)





