If you receive a parking citation, you must do one of the following within 30 days of the date on the citation, or the citation will be delinquent. If the citation becomes delinquent, the court may double the citation amount, issue a warrant for impoundment (tow) of the vehicle, enter a judgment, and impose a fine up to the maximum amount allowed by law and assign the citation to the Department of Revenue for collection.
Below are the 3 different choices you can do before 30 days of the date on the citation. Choose only 1 of the below options.
Option 1: PAY YOUR CITATION Insert in the yellow citation envelope a check or money order for the citation amount. Make your check or money order payable to State of Oregon. Write your citation number and auto license plate number on the check or money order. You may pay the citation in full with Visa or Mastercard by calling 503-988-3235, listen to the message and press the number 2 on your phone. Do not mail cash. Click here to pay your parking citation online now.
Option 2: SEND THE BAIL AND A WRITTEN EXPLANATION
Insert in the yellow citation envelope a check or money order for the citation amount along with a separate written explanation as to why you are contesting the citation. Your written explanation is a waiver of your right to a court hearing and consent to any judgment rendered. The court will consider your written explanation and either refund your money or forfeit all or part of it. For more information on contesting your citation, please visit the court's web page Click here for the Circuit Court web page.
Option 3. SCHEDULE A COURT HEARING
There are 2 different ways to schedule a court hearing. First option is to insert in the yellow citation envelope a check or money order for the citation amount along with a separate written request for a hearing. The second option is to appear in person at the Circuit Court Parking Tag Office, Room 131B, Multnomah County Courthouse, 1021 S.W. Fourth Avenue, Portland, Oregon to request a hearing and to pay the citation.
If your vehicle is impounded (towed) for unpaid parking citations, you must pay the entire amount due in guaranteed funds at the Circuit Court Parking Tag Office. The tow company will also charge a fee before releasing the vehicle.
The Circuit Court Parking Tag Office is accessible to disabled persons. Requests for reasonable accommodation, including an interpreter for the hearing impaired, should be made at least 48 hours before appearance. Requests should be made to the Circuit Court Parking Tag Office at (503) 988-3235 or at the TTY number (503) 988-3907.