Skip to Main Content View Text-Only

The City of Portland, Oregon

Ted Wheeler

Mayor, City of Portland

main phone: 503-823-4120

1221 SW 4th Ave, Room 340, Portland, OR 97204

Portland City Council votes unanimously to appoint first five members of the Portland Clean Energy Community Benefits Fund Committee









Portland City Council made history today by appointing the first five members of the Portland Clean Energy Community Benefits Fund Committee. These inaugural members will nominate the remaining four members of the nine-member committee, which is charged with reviewing proposals and selecting grant recipients for clean energy projects that will benefit communities of color and low-income households. Each of the five Commissioners selected one nominee. The five nominees include Maria Gabrielle Sipin, Dr. Megan Horst, David Edden Hill, Shanice Brittany Clarke, and Robin Wang.

“The Portland Clean Energy Fund is a nationally acclaimed model for climate action and I am excited to have such a dynamic and talented slate of appointments on the PCEF committee to help ensure we get it right," Mayor Ted Wheeler said,"This is an important milestone toward ensuring that all Portlanders, especially working families, have access to a green future with clean energy jobs.”

“We have such a committed and talented group of people joining the PCEF committee,” said Commissioner Jo Ann Hardesty. “I’m excited to see what comes next as we continue building a program that is the first of its kind in the nation, thanks to the community’s efforts.”

"We are thrilled to welcome these initial five Portlanders who have the expertise to lead the program to a successful launch. As the measure states, these individuals have a great depth and breadth of skills, are committed to the goals of the city's Climate Action Plan, and represent our racial and geographic diversity. We are so excited to support them as they get started on setting up the PCEF grant program and filling the final four spots on the committee," said Khanh Pham, the Organizing Director at OPAL Environmental Justice Oregon and a leader in the PCEF community coalition.

For more information about the nominees and the nomination event in council, please visit: